We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Saratoga
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Saratoga for one night. On the plus side it is located just a few blocks from the center of town, which has some nice shops, and picturesque Congress Park is across the street. However, you can't see the park grounds from the inn since a large brick motel blocks the view and the entrance to the park is a couple of blocks away. Another plus is the food in their dining room. We thought dinner was very good. Breakfast was typical - buffet style with pre-cooked food

The inn itself is not particularly attractive. It is not like the charming white clapboard colonial inns one see throughout New England. It is an ordinary wooden structure with a dark interior, a slightly threadbare appearance with no antiques and commonplace furnishings. A large three-story brick building, which contains the bulk of their rooms and where we stayed, has been added onto the back of the original inn and does not blend architecturally.

Our room was a typical motel-like room with no distinguishing features. There is no central air conditioning. All of the rooms have wall A/C units. Ours was very noisy and did not work properly. It stayed on all night but the room remained uncomfortably warm. Our bathroom, however, had a great high pressure shower head which so impressed us that we purchased one upon returning home.

We purchased a package deal, which included dinner, breakfast and a walking history tour. The tour was conducted by a very nice lady who took us through Congress park and some of the surrounding neighborhood to see some of the older homes while relating the history of Saratoga Springs and Congress Park. The cost for our package was $285.57.

Finally, I had reserved a suite but when we arrived no suites were available and we were put into one of their standard rooms. If you want just an ordinary place near downtown, the Inn at Saratoga is OK. Its best feature was the dinner we had in their dining room. The Gideon Putnam Hotel would have been a nicer choice but is not as convenient since they are located relatively far from downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dianders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 444 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2005

I just got back from Saratoga Springs and a three night stay at the Inn at Saratoga Springs. The inn is quite charming and lovely. After viewing pictures online, I never imagined that I would have one of the rooms shown. Imagine my surprise when I opened the door of my room and was staying in one of those rooms! The room was large, nicely appointed and very clean. Each evening, I came back to a room that had been freshly made up with fresh towels and bathroom amenities. As I was at a conference, I didn't have breakfast at the inn, but I do know that dinner there was quite good.

Stayed: July 2005
6  Thank Francais50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
18
Reviewed July 21, 2005

I reserved a room over the internet on their website. The rate I was quoted was not honoured when I arrived at the Inn. The manager on duty (male) was not helpfull at all. Room was clean but average and was overpriced for what we received. Breakfast was limited

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
215
Reviewed July 10, 2005

We stayed here for one night on a weekend and were disappointed. The room was OK but not luxury at all. If you do decide to stay here, be careful what room you get. Avoid rooms in the low 220's. We stayed in a room on the second floor that had a window facing Broadway Ave and the road noise was terrible. Car and large truck traffic went on throughout the entire night. There is a traffic light right on the corner which would have tractor trailers stop and start outside the window. We finally had to turn on the "window" air-conditioner, even though it was cold outside, just to drown out the noise.

When we checked in, no one made mention of the short complimentary breakfast hours. We showed up at 10 am on a weekend morning only to find out that the complimentary breakfast stopped at 9:30. No other food was available. We have done a lot of traveling and never run into a hotel that aspired to be a luxury hotel that stopped serving breakfast at 9:30 on a weekend. When we asked about breakfast, the manager was not very aplogetic. I later discovered that the hours were listed on a handout that the hotel provides and were in the small print at item 6 or 7 on the list. It almost felt like they were hoping a certain percentage of the clients miss it to save money.

I strongly recommend that you look for other options with more recent positive reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2005

In my opinion this is the best place for the money within walking distance of downtown and the track..

Good prices for Saratoga but don't tell anyone - they may raise them!

Nice breakfast room also. All in all, a good choice.

6  Thank TheodoreVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2004

I was recently in Saratoga for a conference and stayed at this hotel. I enjoyed my stay very much and plan to return in the spring with my husband.

The whole place is cozy and understated. The decor almost made me feel like I'd stepped back in time, even though it was a modern hotel I felt that it retained a lot of old-fashioned charm.
I loved my room and found it extremely inviting and comfortable. There was also free internet access in the room, which may be the norm; I wouldn't know since I don't travel on business often. But it was great to be able to plug in my laptop and take care of some things. The continental breakfast was also nice.

8  Thank MrsProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1271
Reviewed May 30, 2004

We stayed at the Inn at Saratoga over Memorial Day weekend. Despite the holiday weekend, I received a reasonable rate for a very large suite which also came with breakfast. We were impressed with the Inn's accommodations: a spacious suite with a very large living room with pull out sofe, and additional seating areas. The king bedroom was equally large with another couch and lovely furniture, making the suite seem less like a hotel room and more like a home. The Inn is quite close to downtown Saratoga and almost across the street from the park with winding paths and lovely vistas. The breakfast was a bit spartan, but plentiful with one hot entree and assorted breads and pastries.
All the employees were polite and helpful. In all, it was a great stay and I highly recommend the Inn.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
612 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#18 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#4 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#3 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
901 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Saratoga

Address: 231 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: $110 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Saratoga 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Saratoga Hotel Saratoga Springs
Hotel At Saratoga
At Saratoga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing