We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Car breakdown brings about a mini vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Saratoga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Saratoga
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Car breakdown brings about a mini vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

While driving through Saratoga Springs our car broke down on Father's Day. Faced with the realization we would need to spend the night, we looked for a hotel online where we could walk around Saratoga while waiting for our car to be fixed. From the moment we arrived at The Inn, we knew we were in for a treat. The old world decor, mixed with a wonderful staff, made us relax and enjoy our stay. Their concern and care went beyond our expectations as they allowed us to delay our check out time when our car wasn't fixed by check out. When we were told we could get our car we were a bit disappointed that we couldn't stay a second night at this wonderful hotel. Truly recommended for anyone visiting the area!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    120
    43
    28
    9
See reviews for
78
183
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

An old lady but has class! Free breakfast though not a big selection! Clean room, good value around Saratoga Spring! No fitness facilities as this is an old building. Friendly staff. Great location situate at the door of the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Spent a night at the Inn at Saratoga last week while visiting colleges with my son. It's a small, simple place, but the front staff was friendly and the location is right on the main street downtown. Walking distance to many restaurants and other entertainment including the Opera House. The room was large and the beds comfortable. A continental breakfast was included in the semi-elegant dining room. There is also a bar that we did not use, but looked inviting.

The combination of cost, comfort and location was excellent. We would stay here again, and probably will.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Inn at Saratoga is located on the southern end of Saratoga Springs' business district, within easy walking distance to much that this charming little upstate city has to offer. The inn is comfy, with large rooms and an impressive breakfast in the morning. It could use some updating, however. Both beds in our room had saggy mattresses, the wallpaper was peeling a bit and some furniture was a bit worn.

It's a nice place that needs a little upkeep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tias, Manager at The Inn at Saratoga, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. Your points are well taken and we are currently addressing them as we are undergoing a major renovation. We have already completed some areas of need and currently have a major order for new, period style furniture. Other areas of need will be done at times that do not cause any inconvenience to our guests. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I really liked this hotel. Not your cookie cutter type place, but quite nice. Relaxed, fresh and clean. The room I stayed in had been recently remodeled. While nicely appointed there were a few things that were just "off". (Who was responsible for furniture decisions and placements?) In the bedroom, there were beautiful window treatments and an amazingly beautiful 4 poster bed. However the bed was so high, I found it quite difficult to actually get onto the bed! (I am 5'8" - granted, not as spry as I once was) I finally pulled up the desk chair and was able to climb onto it to get into bed. A small step stool would be helpful The bedside tables were standard height, so the bottom of lamp shades just managed to clear the mattress. Way too much furniture in the room and placed in useless places. An second small room as you entered could have easily been set up as sitting room had they not place various pieces of furniture there and hung an ironing board on one wall and a random lamp (the type you usually would find mounted next to a bed) hung 7 feet high on the opposite wall. Could barely get in the door since they had placed a desk in front of it as you walked in. Was the furniture placement left to the housekeeping staff????? (I confess I moved a few piece around.) [TIP: spend the money and hire a decorator - you don't need to spend more on furniture, just get someone who knows what they are doing help find the right places for your more than adequate pieces.] One more thing: what seemed like interesting pictures were hung along the hallway - who could tell?- they needed to be lowered about 8-10 inches to put them at eye level for your average height adult. (Does Saratoga Springs have a basketball team that summers here? Between the bed and the pictures, I am seeing a pattern.)

In the bathroom, which was quite large, they had installed a home depot type bathroom sink cabinet - ugly and very low - crowded into a corner of a large room. A free standing sink would be a huge improvement. A new window curtain had been added, but they left the old frilly lace curtain at the top - make a choice!

The bed was comfortable, the room was clean - so it works fine for a night stopover. If someone cared - this place could be a gem. It has the elements, just needs someone to pull them together.

Room Tip: If you are very tall, you will love 348!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had never been to Saratoga Springs. Friends of ours (The Band Sirsy) were having a CD release party at The Putnam Den, so I looked up all of the hotels in Downtown Saratoga Springs. When I called the Inn at Saratoga, David was very friendly and informative, so based on that, the good reviews, and that it was cheaper than The Holiday Inn across the street, I decided to book the night. The hotel room was very nice, especially for the price. My wife and I decided to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant before the show. It was one of the best dinners we have ever had. We split the raviolis and the brisket - AMAZING!

Companies that spend a ton of money on customer service training should just send their employees to observe David or Michelle at the front desk of the Inn! Outstanding service!

My only suggestions: The carpet in the hallways and elevator need updating - they looked clean, but worn. The hot breakfast was very limited (but it was included, so it's tough to complain) - I love Eggs Benedict, but many people don't - it was a strange egg product to have as the only egg choice in a buffet breakfast, and no bacon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julesofnile81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tias, General Manager at The Inn at Saratoga, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of The Inn. I have personally thanked our kitchen staff, David and Michele. I also wanted to let you know that The Inn has many renovation plans for 2013, and all public area carpeting is one of them. We have already replaced the carpeting in The Tavern with hardwood flooring and are very pleased with how it looks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laval, quebec
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Inn at Saratoga is one of those places that feel familiar as soon as you walk in. Our room was located on the main floor. Not much of a view out of the two smallish windows, but the four poster bed was comfortable and there were some nice antique pieces as furnishings. Bathroom was clean and adequate. Breakfast was of the usual continental sort, served in a lovely dining room. We had drinks in the bar before dinner, live music was playing then, and the bartender even stayed later than she needed to when we arrived back for a post-supper drink! The location cannot be beat - walking distance down to the main stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jooley56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saratoga Casino Hotel
Saratoga Casino Hotel
#15 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#10 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Saratoga

Property: The Inn at Saratoga
Address: 231 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Saratoga 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Saratoga Hotel Saratoga Springs
Hotel At Saratoga
At Saratoga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing