We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was recommended as the best Mexican in the area... well...”
Review of El Mexicano

El Mexicano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Connecticut
Level Contributor
163 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“This was recommended as the best Mexican in the area... well...”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Had high hopes. Read about this place being a good value and worth the trip. So we figured we would give them a try.

The chips and salsa were good, but we didn't have much time to enjoy them as the meals came out 2 minutes later.

I had steak fajitas. They were pretty good, a lot of places go light on the meat and heavy on veggies. This was a fair mix. However, no rice came with them, just beans. My wife ordered a veggie burrito I think. She thought it was average.

Both of us had two soft drinks each. So those two meals plus the drinks came to $50 plus tip! That is about $15 more than it would back home so it seemed far too overpriced for what we received.

We did not go back there again and gave up looking for good Mexican food in the Lake George area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom-in-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    53
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“By Far The Best Mexican Restaurant in area.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have enjoyed Mexican food all over the United States and Mexico, El Mexicano is the very best, bar none. My wife had pork chops in a sweet savory sauce with beans and rice, she loved it and I sampled it, Fantastic!! I had 3 enchiladas, 1 cheese, 1 beef and 1 chicken, it was difficult to decide which was best, the rice and beans were outstanding. The service is impeccable and the prices are great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter11ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford,MA
Level Contributor
316 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Loved the décor- very festive. My husband and I split the Ranchero platter for 2. Very big. Tender steak, grilled pork, and ground chorizo, served with fajitas, refried beans & salad. Also large bowl of chips & salsa while you wait. Free dessert & shot a nice touch. Had leftovers for lunch the next day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mexicano themed/ Americano flavor”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The salsa and chips were tasty, decor was very Mexican and the staff was excellent. Food was fair priced but more Americanized than authentic Mexican. It was a good lunch, but was hoping for "the real thing". Free dessert at the end was a nice touch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is a great Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Everything you could want for reasonably priced Mexican food. Festive decorations, extremely fast service, big tasty portions for a reasonable price, attentive waiters, great salsa and chips, and the best part was really tasty food! With a complementary desert!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MSVMSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mexicano also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to El Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing