We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican”
Review of El Mexicano

El Mexicano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a find if you like Mexican food! Huge menu, lots of choices for both adults and kids. Great service and genuine hospitality. This is clearly a local's spot, with great Mexican food, big portions along with complimentary chips and salsa, cheese tortilla and dinner comes with a fabulous dessert. We enjoyed a picture of Margarita's and lots of laughs with a friendly attentive staff. A must for a night out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachmereSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    54
    17
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saratoga ny
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“loved it !”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

here on a friday eve off track season. had few drinks at bar. very good. all of us loved our food. i ordered chicken chimichanga. came as 3 smaller chimis and loved it that way. rice and beans were delish. lots of freebies...tequila shots with lemon garnish, mini cheese quesadilla , salsa and chips, and small banana torilla dessert. staff was all very friendly and inside was fun and colorful. these guys now have 3 locations and i can see why. this place has a parking lot...very rare in saratoga. we stayed 4 hours!!!!! never rushed out. cannot wait to come back. gourmet? no. delish? yep! authentic? have no idea.they have outdoor seating as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amymiazga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastico”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Wow, what a great restaurant. The server was great and offered us many extras on the house. The food was magnifico. Our party was treated like special guests.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great chips!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The server's could not have been more attentive, friendly and prompt. Food was very good - especially the chips. They had a smoky flavor which was unique and leads me to believe that they were roasted instead of the usual deep fried - they were outstanding. I also received a free quesadilla appetizer as well as a free dessert which was totally unexpected. I would cetainly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OK Food, poor service”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The positives:
Free quesadilla appetizer, free shot of tequila at the end of the meal. My shrimp dish was very tasty.
The negatives:
My wife's steak fajita was overdone and tough. The service was non-existent. While friendly, the server was missing in action for most of the time. An appetizer we ordered never came, though it did show up on the bill. We waited forever for the food and just as long for the bill.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jpsphr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mexicano also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to El Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing