We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Place..Good Wine”

The Saratoga Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Saratoga Winery is located just under four miles from Broadway in Downtown Saratoga Springs. We offer traditional style whites and reds such as Riesling, Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Pinot Noir and Merlot. We specialize in an all natural style of wine making called Melomel. Melomel is 12% honey and 88% fruit, made with no added sulfites or preservatives and fermented in Kentucky bourbon barrels. Our grapes are sourced from the Finger Lakes region of New York State, mainly Seneca Lake. Currently all of our Melomel wines are made on the premises. We are currently producing our traditional style whites and reds at a small facility in the Finger Lakes while we continue to grow and improve our production space at our location in Saratoga Springs. Join us during all business hours for a wine tasting and every Friday night from 6-9pm for live music and wood fired pizza. We invite you to sit back, relax and experience great wine with our friendly staff in our warm and inviting Adirondack style atmosphere. *Using a GPS is not recommended as they tend to not pick up our address properly. Please give us a call for easy and accurate directions.
Mid-Atlantic State
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fun Place..Good Wine”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We decided to visit this wi ery while on a little getaway in Saratoga Springs. It was a great place to have a little wine, listen to some music and enjoy a light meal.
Right from the moment we entered the front door the people were very welcoming. It seems this is a place where locals go on Friday night to relax and enjoy the music, food, wine and company of others.
'John Mc? The Entertainer' was great. He played guitar and sang songs from the 60's and current popular music .
The local group danced and welcomed us, the strangers, out onto the dance floor.

It is a very clean place, nice country feel to it, with a large deck to enjoy the evening sky.
Wine tasting was $5.00 for 6 types of wine or you could buy a glass for $6.00. I could not decide between two white wines, so the bar girl had me taste both before I bought the sweetest white. YUM! The food was reasonable, and very good. My friend had a wood fired pizza ($11) and I had a salad. ($7)
They also sell by the bottle.
We really had a fun evening and I bet you would too!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tealuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    38
    18
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
273 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fun hang-out for an off Broadway location”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Ok, the wine is not world class so relax. Just enjoy the casual environment that is part bar, part cafe (pies are great), great hang out for the 35+ crowd. It has a fitting Adirondack decor with warm wood, a fantastic back deck, and nice young owners. Located about 4.5 miles west of broadway on Washington street (rt 29). Try it and check out the gift sho with handmade local artisan pieces.

Helpful?
Thank ZenRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
2 reviews
“worth leaving broadway”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Great atmosphere...always have good live music on weekends can wine taste or enjoy a glass

Helpful?
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun little place”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I just wish the winery was closer to town. Its a fun place for their occasional live music and fun atmosphere.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank radge44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Just a Tasting Room”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I can't suggest going to the Saratoga Winery.
Located on Route 29, it is hard to call it a winery. They have a delightful tasting room, with a rustic atmosphere and a deck out in the back in the woods – a fence blocks it from the road - but that appears to be just about the entire operation. No tours, no views, no casks, no explanations. I was not even sure if they grow any grapes.
If you are expecting a winery such as the wineries in the Finger Lakes or the Hudson Valley, expect to be severely disappointed.
As for the wine, I will not get into what is a very personal opinion beyond saying that in my opinion, the wines are no better than a 3 or 4 on a scale of 10 for New York wines. We won’t even talk about California or foreign wines.
There are better things to do in Saratoga Springs.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Matombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaratogaWinery, Manager at The Saratoga Winery, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for your honest opinion of your experience here at the winery. Though we are always disappointed when someone does not enjoy our establishment as much as we do, we appreciate the constructive criticism. To answer a few of your questions: our grapes are sourced from the Finger Lakes, as it is obviously a much better region for grape growing than Saratoga Springs. Regions like California, France, etc. etc. do have their advantages as their growing seasons don't offer many of the limitations that New York State does. Although it makes our wine making process that much more difficult and limits our selection of grapes that much more, the owners made a choice to support New York farmers, especially those with small, family run businesses similar to our own. Currently all of our all natural Melomel wines are produced right on site in our barrel room, which hopefully you had a chance to see when you visited. Our traditional style whites and reds are currently produced in the Finger Lakes while we work on expanding our production space. In our opinion we've come a long way from the run down farm-stand and greenhouse that the current winery was three years ago. We hope you will visit again in the future and give us a chance to show that we are only in the very beginning stages of growing this winery to it's full potential. The owners are living their life long dream and are firm believers in that you have to start somewhere. Again, thank you for the feed back. It's always a positive thing when someone gives you ideas on how you can improve. Cheers! -The Saratoga Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saratoga Winery also viewed

 

Been to The Saratoga Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing