We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice for many reasons”

Saratoga Casino Hotel
new york
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“nice for many reasons”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a fun place to watch and bet on harness races. On Tuesdays they have a good inexpensive meal for seniors. There is simulcast betting on the 2nd floor on races from all over the country. Bet on Santa Anita, Keeneland, Belmont, etc.This is the positive. The slot machines I stay away from;however, in November New Yorkers will vote on total casino gambling [blackjack,poker, etc.This would make it a gambler's paradise. NO SMOKING inside, people can breathe,which is great. Eventually they plan to build a hotel on the site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkRayman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    123
    107
    37
    49
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fun way to pass a rainy day”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

On a grayish day, we decided to give our luck a whirl. The track is fun (harness racing) and the casino was lively. Plenty of low coin slot machines for everyone. Nice staff, good buffet in track restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Racino”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I never go to a casino with expectations other than to enjoy the environment and the time away from reality.
We had a good time and it was a smoke free environment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MTVNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Loved the Racino!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I don't get the bad reviews here for the racino. We loved it. No its not Vegas or even AC, but for a small racetrack in upstate NY, its great. I saw plenty of people having fun and winning! I did pretty well. Its smoke free, which is nice, which means its clean. Watched the trotters for a while although Im not a horse race fan. I do LOVE horses, so had to take a peek. Ate at the buffet. Its $6.95 for lunch and $8.95 for dinner 7 days a week. Food was average. Staff at the racino was nice.
A fun place to spend a few hours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bleweyz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This has to be the worst paying racino in new york. It's run by the state lottery group and just sucks up your money. My wife and I made 2 visits to this place and never won a cent on any of the 20 or so machines that we played. Save your money and time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zimski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saratoga Casino Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing