We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fabulous brunch in this hotel which is within the Adelphi Hotel”

Blue Hen Restaurant
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 6/18
8:00 PM
OR
Description: The Blue Hen elegantly melds Saratoga Springs' Victorian heritage with The Adelphi Hotel's modern epicurean sensibilities. Inspired in part by the Blue Toed Hen, a notable establishment that once stood near the hotel, our focus is on warm hospitality and classic fine dining, set against a spectacularly beautiful backdrop. Impeccable service and fine artisanal details combine to create an unmistakably refined dining experience. Local, sustainable ingredients are transformed into remarkably creative dishes for dinner and breakfast seven days a week in our stunningly designed glass conservatory. Simultaneously contemporary and timeless, The Blue Hen will exceed your every expectation.
Restaurant details
Description: The Blue Hen elegantly melds Saratoga Springs' Victorian heritage with The Adelphi Hotel's modern epicurean sensibilities. Inspired in part by the Blue Toed Hen, a notable establishment that once stood near the hotel, our focus is on warm hospitality and classic fine dining, set against a spectacularly beautiful backdrop. Impeccable service and fine artisanal details combine to create an unmistakably refined dining experience. Local, sustainable ingredients are transformed into remarkably creative dishes for dinner and breakfast seven days a week in our stunningly designed glass conservatory. Simultaneously contemporary and timeless, The Blue Hen will exceed your every expectation.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Very interesting brunch menu, I had the Frittata which was excellent along with a mimosa. Coffee had a great aroma

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank billwJ4476PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

This is a jewel box of a small restaurant attached to the Adelphi hotel. I have had both breakfast and dinner at this restaurant this month. The offerings are diverse and most are adaptable to a gluten free diet.

We have found the staff to be friendly, knowledgeable and willing to adapt recipes as needed for gluten free diners.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank JohnK190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

Decided to dine here on a short trip to the area and we couldn’t have chosen better. We took advantage of the three course pre fixed dinner which was a terrific value at $35. All the food was outstanding, but what really elevated the experience was the kind attention of our waiter Benny. From the start, he made incredible suggestions about the menu. He knew exactly what wine to offer to complement both our entrees. He described an intriguing ice cream for dessert - foiegras and strawberry- that was out of this world!
We felt so pampered and will remember this meal (and Benny) for a long time.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Linnea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019

We took advantage of restaurant week to patronize what is, admittedly, a pricey restaurant. I can't complain one bit about my meal. I had the scallop/fennel appetizer, and had to work really hard not to lick the plate clean. That was followed by bison short ribs- boneless meat that was so silky in texture that it wasn't to be believed. The dessert was a chestnut flour cake. Nothing special there. But that bison was delicious! We ate in the greenhouse off the lobby. It's a surprisingly small dining room, so reservations are critical.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

Two of us visited the Blue Hen on a Sunday evening. Normally my review would go directly to the restaurant but their web site contains no contact information for the restaurant . We were promptly seated, water brought to the table but it took an extraordinary amount of time for our drink orders. After our drinks were in our meal order was not taken in a prompt time. I had to ask twice for bread to be brought to the table. I had finished my salad and the entree was on the table before the rolls arrived. My entree was salmon. Cooked to perfection! I don't have any complaints about the food. At the conclusion of our meal we both ordered cappuccinos. They were both lukewarm bordering on cold. After flagging the waiter down they did bring over hot ones 10-15 min. later. No spoons, no sugar just the mugs of cappuccino. We are local and were highly disappointed.My reservations were made on open table. When we arrived home we got a notice that we had not arrived at the restaurant. Just one more disappointment regarding staff. For the price you pay to dine there service should be over the top. We had planned to bring out of town guests there next weekend but it appears that we will frequent one of the other fine dining restaurants in town.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kayaker276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hen Restaurant also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Blue Hen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing