We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longfellows Hotel and Restaurant Were First Rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Longfellows Hotel and Restaurant Were First Rate”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Spent two nights at Longfellows for a reception and it was first rate. Had the loft room and it was roomy and clean. Had two flat screens, refrigerator, and large bathroom. The upstairs room had a very comfortable bed and the skylights were a nice touch. The staff was professional and accommodating. The restaurant hosted a reception for 150 guests and the food was excellent. The party room we were in was like a Disney set, complete with bridge, pond with fish, and a European courtyard decor. It is about a 10 minute drive to Center City in Saratoga where there are many shops and dining choices.

Room Tip: If you want extra space, ask for one of the loft rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    96
    21
    4
    13
See reviews for
81
222
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Spa, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Being a local, I have stayed and eaten at Longfellows Hotel and Restaurant in the past before with very pleasing results. So when it came time to block a group of rooms for my March 2013 wedding I wanted to book with Longfellows. The customer service or lack of that I received from the management and staff was an extreme disappointment.

My first attempt stared back in February of 2012 when I wanted to come in and speak with a Sales Coordinator as well as receive a tour of the suite. The front desk member explained that their sales team was only in a few days a week with varying hours and suite tours were given on an appointment only basis. I was also told they couldn’t give me any idea of rate quote since it was more than a year in advance.

As my wedding plans continued and I figured I would once again try to book a group of rooms either by phone or via email in June of 2012. I called the main number and explained I would like to send an email to the sales department about a wedding block. I then sent an email to email address they provided on June 15 and one week later I still hadn’t been contacted by anyone.

A few days after I had sent the email I had a bad feeling that no one was planning on contacting me so I called during business hours and left a voicemail with my name, wedding date, email and telephone number – surprise, surprise NO ONE ever contacted me.

Two days after I left a voicemail I was extremely frustrated and asked to speak to the General Manager. On Thursday June 21 I was sent to his voicemail and 48+ hours later I STILL never heard anything from anyone.

I have been in the hospitality business for over 5 years and I also have a bachelor degree majoring in Hotel Management from Paul Smith’s College. Currently, I work as a Sales Manager at a hotel in the Capital District and can simply say the customer service, response time and communication between departments is absolutely horrifying!

I would not recommend booking any type of room block, wedding or guest reservation at Longfellows. Since then I was able to successfully book a hotel block at another property in the area within one business day. Do not waste your time or family’s finances on this property!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MNF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohegan lake ny
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were in town for the Zac Brown band concert. It was our first time at the hotel. A bit on the expensive side but you get what you pay for. Had the king\loft room. Very professional staff, room was awesome. Its the little things! Real glasses,windows that you can open! Didnt get to try the restaurant but the menu looked pretty damm good! Overall very nice, we will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

For our 10th wedding anniversary i suprised my wife by booking a two night stay at Longfellows which was where we had our reception. Ialso made dinner reservations for us at the inn online and ordered flowers via a service promoted via the online reservation setup. The room was excellent upon checking in. For dinner we were seated next to a fireplace about 100 feet from the bar with extremely heavy foot traffic back and forth throughout the meal. The complimentary glasses of champagne with dinner were an unexpected treat. The first night's stay was quiet; peaceful and relaxing. With Skidmore graduation weekend and a wedding taking place we expected some noise. However the room next to us was rather loud and boisterous starting at 1AM. A call to the front desk did nothing to resolve this. My complaints the next morning were met with apologies and a meager sum was deducted from our bill. I did recieve a call from inn staff about a little more than an hour into our five hour return trip home to ask me if i had ordered flowers and would i want to pick them up. At this point i asked to be contacted by a manager to address this issue. It has now been about two weeks since our stay and i am left paying for flowers never received. With regards to the noisy neighbors i would expect this if paying $85 a night at HoJoes but not for $225 a night. I still have yet to hear from a manager. It is sad to see the quality of such a magical place crumble.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darylbazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We went to Longfellow’s twice; we could not wait until we went again after the first visit and we feel the same about the second. The food was off the chart excellent, the only thing missing was the wheelchair to get me out of the restaurant (The food was so good I didn't want to leave a crumb). My first trip to Longfellow’s was with my wife and me alone. We came back the next time with three other couples and they all loved the food and stay just as well. We are always asking each other, “when are we going back”? The first time we stayed in a suite and the next time we went with a loft room, we were extremely pleased with our accommodations on both visits. The staff was professional and out of the way friendly in both the restaurant and hotel (the service impeccable). It may sound like I am getting paid to leave this feedback but I am not, Longfellow’s is that good and pleasurable.
Two thumbs up and five stars.
Dominick Velardi

Room Tip: Get the loft.....and make sure you eat there.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I am a frequent traveler to Saratoga Springs, New York and my home away form home is Longfellows. The reasons are almost too numerous to mention.

First, the staff is warm and friendly and incredibly accommodating. After a long day of traveling, it's so nice to see a friendly face. The rooms are always clean, cozy, and very well appointed. The new mattresses are HEAVEN! The hotel sits on the edge of a nature preserve so there are plenty of trails and birds to watch and there's nothing like getting away from the hustle of town by getting back to some Nature.
Food wise, I always run over to the restaurant when I'm there as the food and the service are THE BEST IN TOWN. It's always a great place for a quiet dinner, dinner with friends, or even a party or a reception. The food is simple, delicious, and the portions are just right...and so is the service. Attentive and friendly servers are sharp, aware, and very welcoming.
As I visit the area several times during the year, I can always rely on Longfellows..and because I can, it's the only place I stay. Be it ever so humble...know what I mean? Think you can see why it's my Home away from Home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill5042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We went for a weekend anniversary getaway. Chose the Romance Package - it included room, 4 course dinner, chilled champagne, chocolates and continential breakfast. Staff was very friendly and room was very clean and comfortable.We had a king size bed in a loft room, jacuzzi jet tub and fridge as well as coffee maker.The food was excellant as well as more than ample.We had appitizers, salads, I had a fabulous Beef Wellington and my husband had a chicken stuffed with priscutto ham and some kind of cheese. We finished up with a duet of creme brulee'. We actually took our desserts back to our room and ate them later after we had time to relax and digest. We highly recommend this beautiful hotel with a wonderful staff!

Room Tip: We had room 217 and it was a loft room. So our bed was upstairs. Plenty of room if your traving with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outandabout704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
3.5 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,168 reviews
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
796 reviews
3.2 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
404 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#5 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
300 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#14 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center

Property: Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center
Address: 500 Union Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We specialize in making the everyday exceptional; providing outstanding service; and offering an experience you will treasure. Located one mile from the Northway, we are nestled on the countryside just minutes from downtown Saratoga and away from the hustle and bustle. We pride ourselves on offering a relaxing, stress-free environment where we get to know our guests by name. We’ll take care of your dinner reservations, shuttle you to and from town and remember your favorite paper. We offer spacious guest rooms, luxurious lofts and executive suites with numerous amenities to provide all the comforts of home. At our adjacent restaurant, you’ll enjoy award-winning cuisine and a wine list that’s earned Wine Spectator’s recognition for over eight years. Please be advised that menu items and prices are subject to change based on market prices and at Chef's discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, Hotel Saratoga Springs
Longfellows Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing