We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, historic hotel”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Reviewed August 4, 2006

We live in Saratoga Springs and when we decided to get married - this was were we wanted our wedding reception. We were not disappointed! The hotel had lovely fresh flower arrangements everywhere and the ballroom was beautifully set with vintage tableware. The cocktail hour included the bar area and lobby where servers provided passed au’dourves. The food was fantastic and waitstaff pleasant. You could not beat the atmosphere.

Our room (suite #3) was beautiful. The bedding, decor, everything....In the morning - coffee and muffins were delivered to our room and we took them outside to the piazza (next to our room) and enjoyed the view. (We stayed at the hotel - even though we only live a few blocks away). The hotel has had some recent updates - but still retains its charm. Remember - this is a historic hotel - if you are expecting all of the modern amenities - then go to a modern hotel.

Also, the owner is a little quirky....she likes what she likes and wants things to be done the way she expects - we have never found her to be rude or unprofessional...

There are few gems like this hotel left (we've looked)... it's worth a trip!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 76 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2006

Had a pleasant stay here last night, room 28, queen with bath. Small elegant room with high ceilings, high windows with lovely draperies, window a/c, view of the main drag, VERY nice updated bathroom - hardwoods, gleaming fixtures, top shelf toiletries. One quibble - the bed. Soft mattress, slightly creaky headboard. Did not get to check out the alluring inground pool and patio. Wonderful 2nd floor veranda where you can take a drink from the hotel bar. Friendly, competent staff. This is a quiet, stately old world hotel that exudes charm. Excellent romantic retreat. Not for families with small kiddies. Could see myself comming back with a stack of good books for a long weekend. Very reasonable rack rate skyrockets during the brief horseracing season in August. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markp65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2005

I was just walking in downtown Saratoga yesterday and the Adelphi had a sign that said it was closed -- please call ahead and make sure they are booking reservations. I'm not sure if the online booking feature is operating anyway so just wanted to give a heads up.

Stayed: October 2005
4  Thank sugarmagnolia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2005

I don't know if the management has changed at this hotel since the last reviews were written, but our experience at this hotel was very pleasant and without incident. This is a perfect hotel for those who want to get a flavor of old Saratoga--the hotel retains its high Victorian decor and is pleasingly nostalgic. We stayed in a standard room on the 5th floor. There is an elevator (operated only by hotel staff), but we usually walked to and from our room using the grand staircase. This gave us a chance to look at all the decorations on each floor. The room was a very comfortable size with a queen bed, dresser, vanity with mirror, a loveseat, small tv, a large armoire for hanging our clothes, and a small, but sufficient bath with shower and a sink in-room. Robes and a hair dryer were provided in room and we had turn down service one night with spring water salt water taffy laid on our pillows!

The bar was open on Friday night and there were small appetizers and a full range of drinks. The complimentary breakfast was ok, though I don't think the baked goods were "home made." It was enough to get us out the door and going.

The location of the Adelphi can't be beat. Our room was on the front of the hotel (two operable windows overlooking Broadway) and, yes, it is loud. The small AC does provide some "white noise." We were close to restaurants, book stores, and Congress Park. Parking was not a problem, but was not provided by the hotel. We parked on the streets with no problems.

This hotel is old and those who stay here should appreciate that. It is a step back in time and walking the creaky floors you really feel transported back to the era when this resort town really bustled. The piazza is a great place to hang out, reading or drinking coffee and watching passersby.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dm3890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2004

The food at the reception was fantastic. The waiters/witresses, bartenders, chambermaids, bellhop, etc were fantastic. The rooms are overpriced but satisfactory and decorated nicely. The owner and the manager are rude, unprofessional and quite frankly do not care what your requests maybe or how much money you have spent at the hotel. I have been around the world and never seen management as rude and as obnoxious as the management at this hotel. It is unfortunate that the people at the top of this hotel ruin the effort and kindness of the the employees who work so hard at making the stay pleasant. I would walk by and enjoy a free tour of the hotel. If you must spend money there, I would watch my credit card statement. If you must sign a contract to have an event there, I would either think twice or put everything in writing and have an attorney review it, as the owner has a very suspect memory.

8  Thank MMBoston70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Naples, Florida
18
Reviewed October 5, 2004

Two weeks ago we spent the weekend at the Adelphi, occupying the hotel for a large family wedding. Although we did find the rooms satisfactory, the owner did not use good judgment when she approached the bride with a complaint regarding using the balcony for entertaining guests. Apparently too many of us were on the 2nd floor piazza, although there was seating enough for all of us, and she was fearful the fire dept. would shut her down. We also had some crackers and drinks which she would not allow. This all may have been stated in a contract but should have been taken up with the bride's father who hosted the event. It was an embarrasing situation for all involved. I would suggest that the owner post a sign stating the number of persons allowed on the piazza "by order of fire dept." to avoid further siuations. She not only put our lives in danger by not making us aware that the weight was too great on the piazza, but the life of my daughter's unborn child. To avoid legal proceedings I suggest she contact an engineer to check the structural safety of this area.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rockaway, NJ
112
Reviewed August 2, 2004

We stayed 3 nights, and payed over $360 per night! We had intermittent scalding water and freezing water at every shower. Management did nothing.

There is very poor lighting in the entire hotel, but in the room, it was ridiculous. We complained but management said that "it was just the way it is!".

This place was not cozy or charming. It was shabby and old! I have been to many old hotels overseas, and the owners should be embarassed at their place.

Everyone was rude!

Never again!

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#17 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#3 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
861 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 365 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-3111
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: $268 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing