We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great new choice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
288 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great new choice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just one block from Broadway this relatively new hotel (4 years) is not your typical Hampton Inn.
From lobby up through to rooms, it is spacious and modern and more typical of the higher range hotels - many of which it would put to shame.
Staff very pleasant, prices very reasonable,has own indoor parking garage and didn't charge extra for parking or WiFi - none of the 'nickel-and-dime' approach I've had elsewhere - and, of course, a breakfast.
Not sure why anyone would stay elsewhere in this area bless you're looking to be pampered in a high end inn; certain of which have reached their sell by date if TI reviews have anything to go by.

I look forward to staying here when I next visit the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TourMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hello and thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! It's nice to receive such positive feedback and share it with the team at our daily meetings. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    217
    31
    6
    11
See reviews for
381
420
39
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just returned from Saratoga Springs where we stayed 1 night at the Hampton Inn and Suites. We were pleased.
Room was large and clean. Bathroom was large as well but our room did not have a tub-just a full size walk in shower. If you are traveling with people who prefer to take baths you may want to check when you book to make sure your room will have one.
I found the bed to be harder than I am used to and woke up a little sore. My husband thought it was comfortable!
Check-in was a breeze and the staff were very friendly.
Parking is in a garage attached to the back of the hotel. If you have a lot of luggage/things to bring to room I would suggest doing so when you check in so you don't have to schlep it in from the parking garage.
Location is GREAT. 2 blocks from Broadway, the main shopping/dining street in Saratoga Springs. Plenty of great restaurants in walking distance of hotel.
The free breakfast was better than average - bacon, home fries, eggs, waffles, hot oatmeal, pastries/breads.
We did not use pool but it looked really nice.
Overall we were pleased and will plan to stay here when we return to Saratoga Springs!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We really appreciate your comments regarding our hotel as we strive to make everyone feel "at home". We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, just one block from the main street of Saratoga Springs. We were able to easily walk to dinner and shopping. The hotel does not feel like a typical chain; the architecture is lovely. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. There is a very nice pool and jacuzzi area, parking garage for cars, and a warm and inviting lounge/breakfast area. We would not hesitate to return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KKZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank your for the wonderful review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
175 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I was concerned about location, as I was traveling without a car. This location was perfect--convenient to walk into town, to the race track, down the beautiful main street to Skidmore College. The hotel was beautiful and the room clean and comfortable. I was bothered by the noise of a generator, and the front desk offered to either move me or reduce the price--great professionalism. I often stay at Hampton Inns and was very pleased here.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and sharing your comments with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff took care of the challenges you had with noise. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a treat to stay here. One of the nicest Hamptons of the many that I've stayed in. I live in the Saratoga area, but far enough away that I didn't want to drive home after a very late meeting and then back for a very early meeting the next day. So I indulged and stayed the night. Was wishing that I could have stayed longer! The hotel is very modern, clean and up to date. The room was very comfortable and had plenty of room, though it seemed like it might be one of the smaller rooms in the building. The bathroom was clean and spacious, though no tub.

The room also had a nice balcony that I didn't really get to enjoy during my short stay. I was concerned that the room overlooked the street and a big city parking area. But I couldn't hear any noise once the patio door was closed. The pool and spa looked inviting, though I didn't have time to take advantage. Nor did I really take a good look at the breakfast options. Just grabbed coffee and a banana to go.

I appreciated the hotel parking very much. It's always a challenge to find parking in Saratoga during a big conference. What a treat to know my car was safely and legally parked away under cover. No parking tickets for me!

And of course the hotel is in handy walking distance to all of downtown Saratoga. Lots of great restaurants and shops. And just down a small hill from the conference center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldygrdnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We are always happy to have "locals" stay with us and enjoy the treats that our visitors typically enjoy! We appreciate the 5 star review and hope that we can serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was so pleasantly surprised by Hampton Inn & Suites in Saratoga Springs. It's very clean, in the heart of downtown and within walking distance of all the shops, bars and restaurants. All the staff is absolutely wonderful.

The COMPLIMENTARY breakfast was awesome.Great variety with fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, mini omelettes (although I wasnt crazy about those), home fries, 4 kinds of juices, toast, bagels, etc etc etc. Did I mention they also had a Make-Your-Own-Waffle station!! They also offer Coffee/Tea/Hot Apple Cider 24/7 and sometimes fresh chocolate chip cookies at the front desk.

Our room was awesome. Very clean, everything is nice and new, and the bed and pillows were SO comfortable. In general, the whole hotel is very nicely decorated, always very clean. Although I didn't use them, the pool and hot tub looked really nice.

I really cannot say enough great things about this place. Do yourself a favor and stay here! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks for giving us a five star review! We are very appreciative when our guests share their experiences with others! We are thrilled you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here around Thanksgiving 2012. The hotel is in a fantastic location - very close to the restaurants and shops on Broadway, the bars on Caroline Street and a quick walk to Congress Park. They also offer free parking (a boon in Saratoga Springs!) that is attached to the hotel along with WiFi, complimentary breakfast and Pool/Whirlpool facilities.

I want to underscore that my room and the hotel was incredibly clean - it's obvious that someone is paying attention to housekeeping and overall appearance. That fact alone makes it worth the few extra dollars over some of the other hotels in the area.

I had a really sore back from driving a lot my first day, so I spent a lot of time in the pool/whirlpool and I was very impressed how clean and orderly the pool area was! Likewise, the lobby area is beautiful and has a very nice lounge area with fireplace, couches, etc. I didn't have a lot of time to enjoy the lounge, but it was a nice little place to retreat to at night :)

My only complaint was the staff - both the day and the night shift were pretty flaky and not really helpful, and were a bit rude when I checked in. I noticed this wasn't just with me - other people seemed to have the same issue. Instead of asking them for help with directions or restaurant locations, I found it infinitely more helpful to just consult google. It's a minor detail - I didn't have to interact with them much, but, sort of disappointing.

Also, the hotel room I had didn't have a bathtub, there was a shower though. While this wasn't a huge issue (and I certainly didn't request it), it was just sort of surprising given the fact it's a Hampton. If you have kids or really want a bathtub to soak in, you might want to mention that when booking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are happy that for the most part you had a pleasant stay. We appreciate the compliments and the honesty. I was quite disappointed to hear that our staff did not meet your expectations during your stay and will be sharing your review with all managers at our weekly meeting. We are certainly thankful for all our customers and our goal is to make them feel that way. I am sorry that we fell short during your stay. We hope you will return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#11 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#7 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Address: 25 Lake Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Hotel Saratoga Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Saratoga Springs
Hampton Inn Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing