We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large clean rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Saranac Lake
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Tidewater Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Large clean rooms.”
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I've stayed here several times over the last 8 years. Spring fall and summer stays. Rooms have always been clean. Good service at the desk.

Once I drove up, without reservations, on the 4th of July. Got there around midnight. They had no rooms left, but found the Hotel Saranac, downtown had rooms left. Make reservation and stay bhere instead. Room is at least 3 times as large, more up to date and cleaner.

Breakfast at McKenzies, on the same preoperty. Good Blueberry pancakes.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joatmon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    168
    78
    13
    15
See reviews for
161
122
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

water stains on the ceiling, stained carpet, really old laminate furniture, 19" 20 year old TV, bathroom that you have to step around the door to close it, etc. a basic 50s motel, but it looks like thats all there is in this area. could be worse. if i had it to do over again i might try the courtyard 9 miles away in lake placid.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

This was the third time i have stayed at this motel, The rating should be between average and above average. Only complaints were the heating system was loud when it came on and shut off;; plus no elevator to second floor. For a family with children especially little children and luggage it was not convenient. The staff was courteous and efficient. The pool hours were great amd we appreciated being able to swim jjust before bed; would have loved a hot tub after traveling especially in the snow. Like the convenience of restaurant on the property and coffee makers and refrigerators in the rooms. I would atay there again if I had to be in the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Should of known better that being located on the highway would be noisy but we hardly got any sleep. Walls & windows must be paper thin as you can hear tons of noise from elsewhere in the hotel including every door that is opened.

Bring your own shampoo and other items cause our rooms did not have any.

We tried to complain to the manager but got no where so we'll stay elsewhere next time.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lovesazhighpoint9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

This hotel is conveniently located in Saranac. There is a Grand Union grocery store and dunkin donuts just north of the hotel. I would suggest you skip the restaurant next door and get a donut or breakfast sandwich instead. The fried potatoes at that restaurant were absolutely nasty - we could not eat them at all. Good coffee prices and they do offer take out coffee. Restaurant staff could be more attentive.

The young man at the hotel checking us in was great, although he was new at the job. Room was adequate. Bathrooms are rather cramped and very old. Shower curtain saw it's better days about 10 years ago. Flimsy, wrinkled and useless. They have a washing machine and dryer on the first floor. They did accept both AAA and AARP. Apples and newspapers are on the house.

Side of the property is lovely. There are benches, swings and a picnic table overlooking a small pond. Lots of geese and ducks. Very peaceful and pretty.

Overall, an ok place to stay if you are out and about hiking or touring most of the day. We'll look for another place for next year, one with a bit more ambiance and more comfortable beds and bedding and an updated bathroom.

  • Liked — Front desk attendant helpful
  • Disliked — restaurant breakfast food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaycentralNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Most people come to this area for the outdoor activities. I was very impressed by how clean they keep the place. Very comfortable with nice amenities such as indoor pool, refrigerator, free computer and printer (up to 5 pages) usage by the lobby. The hotel also runs a very nice restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch. We ate there several times. Good selection and reasonable prices. Very convenient so you don’t have to drive around looking for a place to eat. I will definitely stay here again next time we visit.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort, location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajiin0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

We were in Lake Saranac for a hockey tournament. We found this hotel to be clean, the staff could not have been nicer and the location was perfect. It was an awesome weekend!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — stairs to 2nd floor
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mimi068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
6.8 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.8 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Saranac Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Saranac Lake

Property: Best Western Saranac Lake
Address: 487 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2463 (Formerly Best Western Mountain Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Saranac Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Saranac Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Lake Hotel Saranac Lake
Saranac Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing