We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed In the Boonies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Saranac Lake
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bed In the Boonies”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nice enough place but you're really in the mountains and if you expect much you won't likely get it. When we checked-in a young man, who should not have been dealing with the public, was at the desk and he responded to my wife's inquiry about the air-conditioning working with a joke that it did work but they didn't have any power! A self-fulfilling prophecy as the power went out shortly after checking in. The room was dark, hot and musty with no air-conditioning turned on and the refrigerator unplugged as if it hadn't been used in weeks. They knew we were coming? The lamp next to the bed had no bulb and then we discovered that the toilet tank did not auto-refill but you had to turn the valve on the wall behind the tank off and on in order to refill the tank. But, by then the power was out due to downed trees in the area. We just hunkered down and waited it out till morning.

Room Tip: Ask that the room be "ready" when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim201046637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    170
    85
    14
    18
See reviews for
174
127
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oneida, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recently stayed one night, July 14. All was well, actually very well. Large clean room, modern bath, great swimming pool, quiet A/C, friendly staff. The breakfast/lunch cafe right next door was also top notch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very clean,service was excellent, very friendly staff, quiet,beautifull view of the mountains and lakes,small town awonderful get away from the city life,this hotel is the best in saranac lake,will most definitely be booking with them again..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reece127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Overall it was a good stay and service was right on and employees answer all question about the area etc. Looking up information on the computer was what they said it would be.Direction to the Best Western was direct and easy to drive too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, friendly people. Rooms clean. Cafe with hotel a little pricey. Great location and quiet for sleeping. Wish they would have coffee in lobby. Beds comfortable. Not too bad of price for the area. Nice sitting area by the pool. Enjoyed sitting out on the benches in the evening.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank indianaNurse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I think this is about the only national chain in the area, which is why I picked it. It was also a lot cheaper than Lake placid. They do own the restaurant in the parking lot. The hotel was ok. However if you are spending over $100 a night, it would be nice if they gave you some conditioner and not just shampoo for the room. This is indicative of what I sensed--they gotcha and don't care about amenities. Unless you live for the free apples, it was ok but not a great value. I was upstairs. Downstairs was a girls' summer camp traveling group but I didn't hear them. The checkin person was ok. Did not try the pool. THe place in the parking lot to eat added up quickly in price. The room was ok but they cheap out on the room amenities, epitomized by only giving you shampoo and no conditioner. Room was clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RocFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I just wanted to say Thank you to "Samantha" the gentleman who checked us into our room on July 4, 2013 at around 4pm. His helpful and warm and humorous attititude put a smile on my face all day. The staff was very friendly and courteous and the room was very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiez170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,266 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
6.3 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
327 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Adirondack Inn
Best Western Adirondack Inn
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Saranac Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Saranac Lake

Property: Best Western Saranac Lake
Address: 487 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2463 (Formerly Best Western Mountain Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Saranac Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Saranac Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Lake Hotel Saranac Lake
Saranac Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing