We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; about as generic as chain hotels get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Saranac Lake
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location; about as generic as chain hotels get”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Staff was friendly for the check-in. Rooms are spacious but uninspired. Refrigerator was turned off; coffee machine is in the bathroom (?). Free wifi, no breakfast. Overall what was expected when chosing a best western, a safe but boring choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    169
    82
    14
    16
See reviews for
166
125
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Englander
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Front desk staff was not the most pleasant and the hotel showed its fair share of wear. The room was clean but exceptionally noisy between the plumbing and heating- and the walls didn't seem to have any noise proofing in them. The pillows - while they gave you tons of them- were thin and it was difficult to get comfortable in bed. Since we don't know the area, we don't know if this place is on par with the quality of the area. Meh.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_Camber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
208 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I read the reviews for the hotel and noted that almost all the bad reviews were several years old. The only recent one was from someone who lives in Saranac Lake(?) The person at the desk at check-in was excellent, provided us with local information sheets for activities and dining. The room itself was spacious and very clean. We stayed there 5 nights and even though we had a room close to the road did not hear any traffic noise until Saturday - it is hard to keep a motorcycle quite when doing 30mph.
Each day the room was excently cleaned. The only thing which I could complain about was that one day the maid forgot to empty one of the rubbish bins. Though, the pillows on the bed were a little overdone for a hotel at this level.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TorontoTimTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Under $100 with 'AAA' memership this is superb value for the Adirondacks. The front desk staff are very friendly and knowledgable. While there is not an extensive selection of room styles, the king bed we slept on was very comfortable and firm. They also have updated some rooms with flat screen TVs.

The one drawback is there is no restaurant in hotel, but we enjoy eating out in town anyway to get a better experience of the town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADK_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We were in the area for a family weekend. it was nice and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay there again. Enjoyed out swim in the pool.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredLikesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Well kept hotel large room - fridge and coffee maker in the room but no microwave. Newer TV with many channels and a large shallow in-door pool. No food in the hotel but an adjacent restaurant serves breakfast and lunch.

There's not really much to do in the area and we found our selves driving to lake placid each day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott6428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in August while we explored various lakes with our kayaks. We were looking for a hotel in a convenient location that would provide us a clean and quiet room from which we could keep an eye on our car/boats, and the Best Western delivered. Everyone at the front desk was friendly, helpful and efficient, and we never heard a noise from either the hallway or the outdoors once in our room. There is a busy Mexican restaurant next door that serves outside, and while the restaurant was quite busy the nights we were there, not a single sound infiltrated our room. An on-property restaurant serves breakfast until 2 PM, which was very helpful. Free wireless in the guest rooms is really appreciated. $200/night seems a little expensive for a no-frills stay but on the other hand it was exactly what we were looking for, and I am sure we'll stay at this Best Western the next time we return to the Adirondacks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
6.9 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Saranac Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Saranac Lake

Property: Best Western Saranac Lake
Address: 487 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2463 (Formerly Best Western Mountain Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Saranac Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Saranac Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Lake Hotel Saranac Lake
Saranac Lake Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing