We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and fun!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Saranac Lake, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
B5950ZFma...
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and fun!”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My hubby, our two girls, and my parents spent Easter weekend at this place. It was a fun family trip. The forest is beautiful any time of year and we got dizzy from all the fresh air. It was easy to stock on groceries as you have Walmart short drive away. We are not big on skiing so we took a road trip to Lake Placid instead for some sightseeing and light shopping. Very enjoyable! The soothing noise of the real wood heater transforms the leaving room into such a cozy quarters in the evenings. We played cards and watched family movies while my father took a well-deserved nap in a comfortable old-fashioned arm-chair. We are planning to go in the summer next time. I am sure it would be just as magical.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela B
Netanya, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway from the city”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed at this place a few times with friends and family, and every time it is an amazing experience.
In the summer we enjoyed the lake by swimming, canoeing and kayaking. The owners told us about some great spots for rock climbing and hiking near the chalet. There is also a great patio were we ate in the warm season and a bonfire place where we spend our evenings singing and enjoying the nature, since the place is situated in the Adirondacks.
In the winter, the clean and white snow made our stay even more magical. We went skiing at Titus mountain, which is 10 minutes from the chalet, and our friends who didn’t know how to sky could do some tubing at the same place. When we came back home we could warm up in front of the fireplace, very cozy.
It is a very big place, where all the necessary appliances are provided by the owners. And it is situated in a good place, calm and isolated from any loud or distracting noises, not very far from the village of Malone where you can find everything needed for a longer stay, like a 24/7 Walmart, a liquor store, several supermarkets and some restaurants and fast foods.
I recommend this place for everyone who wants to spend some quality time with family or friends very detached from the city but not so far from it.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlPAPA
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to come back again and again”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We are visiting this place few times a year for some time already.
It is amazing place where we always plan to come back.(And it is not far from Montreal) about 1.5 h drive .

The building is 19 century building and it is very authentic and classy inside it displays a character of the Adirondack during the Industrial era wealth in this area.

It feels like travelling in time. The host became our friends and they are super nice and easy going. The area is wooded and there is certain healing effect if you stay there for few nights. It is not water front bu the water is really close.

There is a hiking and rock climbing in the area just ask the owners where to go.(Owls head is one of the destination we want to)
We have never tried fishing in the area but the name of the River is Salmon river so I assume it is also possible:)

The place located really close to famous bar Restoration in the area so if you lazy on cooking you can go by foot to the country style bar. (it will take just a few minutes.)

Chopper price, liqueur store and 24/7 Walmart are in reasonable drive distance.
If you come during the winter you can go to ski in Titus mountain.(Actually I have learned how to ski there )

On site you have TV and DVD with some DVD collection, board games , and old books in English.

Kids love it.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igal G
Cupertino, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The ultimate getaway in a middle of an amazing park. Any time of the year!”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We are recurring guests here, and we cannot get enough of this place.
Summer/winter/fall/spring - it always amazes us with the beautiful nature, cozy house, and hospitable hosts!

This time we went around Christmas time, and this was a magic getaway vacation! Real forest, lots of beautiful, clean snow, lovely, cozy, warm house with a fireplace and plenty of room for everyone! A Christmas tree adding magic to the atmosphere!

Kids had so much fun playing outside in the snow, or being inside! There is so much room, that sometimes it seemed like we didn't have any kids with us! :)

Plenty of rooms on two floors. There is enough privacy if needed. The rooms on the second floor are very well sound isolated, if a quiet corner is needed.

Beautiful, clean place, with a very well equipped kitchen, BBQ, fireplace. Will definitely go there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, coziness, hospitality
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia s
Laval, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
Google Translation

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in December 2013
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing