We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I been comeing here a number of years now for the Can Am Rugby in July-Aug. This place is AWESOME! and gets better and better each visit, Gauthiers Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel is the only place I will ever stay at when I am in SL, The two brothers are great great people as well as there staff and alway make me feel super awesome here even had beer waiting for me one year' I could go on and on and on about how great this place is and can't wait till this summer to go back even got my room all books see you soon Lads!!...Big Don from Michigan

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Rugby or any time of year we love to have you as our guest! Thank you for taking time to write about your experiences with us- we look forward to seeing you this year for the best Rugby Tournament going!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 248 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed here a few summers ago for one night and although this is an older motel, it has been newly renovated. I had a nice few of the lake and a very comfy bed. I loved the mexican restaurant across the street! It was a great night!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your review- we are so glad to have had you as our guest! Looking forward to your next visit.

Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great place. Clean. Friendly. Relaxing. Comfortable. We loved the free use of the canoes, kayaks, paddle boats and bikes. We used them all. Also, sitting by the lake in the evening is like going to heaven. But the friendly owners and staff made the stay super special. Hard working, nice folks who are constantly polishing a gem. We will be back as soon as we are able.

Room Tip: Stay by the lake, if you can. But any room would be fine. The lake is steps away from the most remot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

We very pleased you enjoyed our style of hospitality, thank you for the complements. More so, we love you also took advantage of all the recreational amenities we offer. It sounds as though you had a wonderful visit to the Adirondacks. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Saranac Lake and the High Peaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Gauthiers Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel is a great place to stay while visiting the Adirondacks. It is an old-style motor inn that has been completely refurbished and upgraded. The rooms are modern, stylish, very clean, and comfortable, yet the whole place has a very retro, vintage feel to it. Service is very hands-on, friendly, and helpful. It is right on the water, and there are canoes, kayaks, paddleboats, and bicycles there for your use. Delicious coffee and tea are available in the office. And best of all, this is the greenest place you will ever see. It holds a prestigious award from the Audubon Society for their efforts toward conservation and sustainability, including the use of free trade and bird friendly coffees and teas, and natural, non-animal tested Bee Kind toiletries in the rooms! Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Let me first say if you are not a travel writer, you should be! What a detailed and excellent perspective review. You wrote exactly what we hope our guests notice, from the vibe we present to the eco sustainable touches. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and will recommend us to others.
Keep on traveling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My friend and I just returned from a leaf peeping trip to the Adirondacks. We stayed at Gauthier's
and had a very pleasent visit. The room was clean and comfortable and had a very convenient
refrigerator. The only minus was the size of the bathroom, but I didn't go there to spend time
bathing. We had one of the lakeside rooms and were delighted to be able to have our "wine and cheese" while sitting by the lake. We didn't get around to using the boats , but saw lots of people who did. One thing I appreciated was how quiet it was even with a lot of the rooms in use. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We had a little plumbing problem that was attended to as soon as I reported it.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are the best,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burnseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed a quiet retreat. On your next visit we hope to get you out on the kayaks and canoes, although it sounds as though you enjoyed watching the other guest take advantage. Again, thank you for your review, safe travels until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've stayed here several times, the first time being when stranded in 2011 due to Hurricane Irene descending upon the area and making roads to home impassable. The rooms are ultra clean and cozy, more like a bed & breakfast than a hotel, with lots of character. I have always enjoyed a room on the lake side, upstairs with a balcony. It's special to be able to watch the sunset over the lake right from the room, and then to enjoy a good night's sleep. When we stayed this past weekend, it was fun to leave the sliding doors ajar and listen to the "laughing" ducks as we drifted off to sleep. The location of Gauthier's is prime, close enough to everything in Saranac Lake, and the folks here are friendly, laid back and helpful. There is free coffee in the lobby and it really feels like family there. We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Request a room on the lake side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabrielle1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

We love having you as our guest as much as you love staying with us:) It is always a pleasure to have you our way. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we so look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A couple normal items that make a stay were missing. Shower located in bathroom seemed to be hand made tile type, worked fine but there was no shelf/dish to place soap/shampoo. You had to reach out and use the top of the toilet tank. Shower also had a thick heavy curtin, drawback was the poor lighting which made shower at night impossible or in the dark. Sink area out side bathroom had no shower rack.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so glad to have had you stay with us.

Yes, the bathrooms are all new and made of a recycled content tile, which we are super excited about. Last month we switched to a different type of CFL bulb light, which in your case between the decorative shower curtain and new lighting made for a dark shower. After reading this review, I re ordered our usual CFL and have also ordered curtains with the sheer cloth on top to ensure this is no longer an issue. There are racks on the shower head for soaps and amenities, but apparently us literally leaving you in the dark did not help locating them ;/

We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and glad the small issues could be resolved. Our guests are our best help in all of our improvements and services!

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
500 reviews
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
7.8 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adirondack Motel
Adirondack Motel
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
161 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel

Address: 488 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2455
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range: $118 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Adirondack Waterfront Saranac Lake's only GREEN lodging property- Offering waterfront accommodations on Lake Flower In Saranac Lake with access to over 30 miles of Adirondack waterways, including Upper, Middle, and Lower Saranac Lakes. Walk to shopping, dining, galleries, and enjoy our events; including the entertainment in neighboring Lake Placid NY. Only 20 minutes to Whiteface Mountain, where you'll find year round activities! Stay GREEN in the Adirondacks - Rated a Platinum Property by Audubon International's Eco Lodging Program - the highest designation possible, 1 of only 8 in North America. Saranac Lake Inn is committed to a new vision, fresh eco-conscious perspective, attention to detail and style, and a welcoming environment for our guest's from our family owned and operated lodge. Our rooms have been remodeled, redressed, and recycled with the environment in mind! The Adirondacks Recreation Resort Our focus is all about our guest's experience and making Adirondack recreation accessible. We provide a large variety of amenities and perks to help complete your trip; to make it easy for you to try a new activity while on vacation. Kayaks, bicycles, canoes, tennis, snowshoes and ice skating complementary with your stay- Just to name a few! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gauthier`s Saranac Lake Hotel Saranac Lake
Gauthiers Saranac Lake Hotel
Gauthiers Saranac Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing