We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been going to Gauthier's for many years and keep returning because of the owners!!! Not only have they accomodated our every need year after year, the constant updating and attention to our environment by "going green" as well as the location is like no other. We love that it is a family owned business and they treat us just like that..family. The rooms are clean,updated, yet still feel like the Adirondacks with beutiful views and dock space right on the property for our boat. If you like to feel like you are the most important customer when you go away, then this is the place!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Janine and Paul

Room Tip: We love the balcony rooms that face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janinepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always love to hear when our guests feel like family, as that is one of our priority goals.

Thank you also for your appeciation of our Eco Program. We take much pride in our efforts and are super excited when our guest see a value to them as well.

Your boat is always welcome at our docks, you all have become guests we can't wait for to return.

Our best and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    76
    18
    16
    20
See reviews for
72
98
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
westchester county, ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have been staying here on a regular basis for years and cannot praise it highly enough. Family run, comfortable, clean and charmingly decorated...not to mention beautifully situated overlooking an Adirondack Lake within a convenient distance to Lake Placid and all sorts of Adirondack sites and activities, Gaultiers is the best place to stay. It always feels like coming home when we check in and immediately feel relaxed and happy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Such kind and warm comments, we certainly appeciate you as our guests and are so pleased you can't wait to return.

Your loyality to us is the best compliment you could give us. We are glad to know you too are happy with us and your experience at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn.

Until you return, safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently took a trip through New York and Vermont to see the fall leaves. The Adirondacks were simply beautiful even though we had alot of rain. No matter how hard we tried to plan around the weekends (which we knew would have some crowding issues) we could not completely avoid it. Like other resort towns during special seasons or events, prices get driven up quite a bit so I looked for the best place that would not break the bank. This place look pretty, with great location and I had good expectations for it. I was not expecting fancy but I was extremely shocked and concerned when we arrived. The room had a bad funky smell to it. The bathroom was so small, you had to remove the small bathroom rug so you could open and close the bathroom door. It was the size of an RV's bathroom. The room was very basic with one minature light between the queen bed. There two other floor lamps but they were not easily operated if reading in bed. It did have a porch overlooking beautiful Lake Flower, but there is a marine right behind where I was that did interfere with the review, but only a little bit. When we sat on the bed, we heard very loud squeeking from the metal coils/springs. The latch was broken on the sliding glass door to the balcony but my husband figured out that there was another one at the bottom of the door. The manager in the office gave us good advice for dinner, which we appreciated. When we returned, I let her know that there were some problems with the room including the bad smell. She did indicate that she did notice the smell and thought it might have been from 3 fisherman that stayed there before us and was hopeful it would get better. I am hoping it is not from the child that had an accident as documented in another review. We had the windows opened and did help air the room out until it got in the 30's and we had to close up for the night. By then, she had already left. We were feeling very ripped off since this very basic room was costing us $200/night. So we settled in for the evening and then our neighbors started making love. We could hear their voices and their headboard was apparently resting against the wall and shook our bed we VERY loudy banging. Fortunate for them it lasted at least 20 minutes, not so comfortable for us...like a bad movie. So glad we did not have kids with us. I woke up everytime my husband moved throughout the night because the squeeking was so loud. By 5:30am we were anxious to get out of there. I turned on the shower, jumped in and lathered up. Almost on queue, the water went completely cold. I waited a minute or two since sometimes there can be a momentary adjustment of temperature, but no, it was freezing cold. I wasnt too happy by then. My husband took a sponge bath after I finish doing the same and we quickly packed. By then, the office opened at 7am and the owner was there. I described my disappointment and I felt it necessary to negotiate the rate which he did immediately in a friendly and professional way. I thought his handling of the situation to be quite exceptional. As we were leaving, I saw him immediately going to where the hot water heater was to check it out. That makes for a tough day when a piece of equipment like that goes out on you. Anyway, I later also received a charming note from the co-owner and wife to follow-up on my experience and express a desire for us to return since they hoped to change our overall experience with the establishment. I really commend their reaction to my concerns. When I came home, I really struggled with the reviews I saw on this place versus my experience and re-read them to try and understand. I believe what can be accounted for is there are rooms that have been renovated but we were not in one of those. This suggests that you may have a completely different experience should you be in a rennovated room and also hope that as the owners are able to continue to rennovate, they will ultimately have a real winner in all regards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpape_titusville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conesus, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Gauthier's SLI and Hotel from Sat, Sept 29 to Oct 2nd, 2012. It was our first time staying there. We were on the 2nd level with a huge balcony that overlooks Flower Lake. The room was large with a queen bed, pull out leather couch, TV, frig, microwave, nice hot shower! Very nice place. We would love to stay there again and actually try for the same room!

Room Tip: Definately get the Lake front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncr1, Owner at Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Lake front is best!

The room you mentioned is one of my favorites too. You will be pleased to know I did another overhaul in that room adding a luxurious set of distinct organic linens, new art and vintage drapes. I look forward to your thoughts upon a return stay!

Best and safe Travels from Gauthier's SLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Gauthiers is an environmentally sensitive, no-frills motel with a marvellous location directly
overlooking Lake Flower near the town of Saranac. In the comfortable room we had at the parking lot level there was remarkably little noise from the road and there must be essentially
none in the rooms lower down on the edge of the lake.

The lake side physical environment of the motel was lovely and it included some stunning sunsets (see pictures).The real time access to canoes, kayaks and the lake was a very enjoyable feature of the establishment.The only drawback for our room was the poor internet connection; when we were staying in the motel (during August, 2012) the only hot spot I could find was in the motel's rather charming front office.

The service from Doug and Dan was impeccable, both very responsive and friendly, we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room directly overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petercmontreal777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We had planned a camping trip to Meacham Lake for the weekend. After spending Friday night freezing and wet we made the decision to find a hotel for Saturday (6 adults, 2 kids and a dog). Lake Placid ended up having either no availability or was very expensive. We found this nice place which had adjoining rooms with a kitchen and pets allowed. The rooms were a little old but had some upgrades, carpets, bathrooms. They were very clean, comfortable beds lots of window for fresh air. Great spot to stay with family and friends. If we hadn't been so cold and tired we would have enjoyed more of the activities they had to offer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We didn't make plans in advance, and just called from the car on the way to the mountains. They went out of their way to make it easy. When Jody showed is the room, #28, we knew we were in for a treat. The room was quiet, peaceful, the views were terrific. Our favorite was the kayaks. We spend 4 hours the first morning, just paddling around the area. Ditto the 2nd day. Sipping wine on our balcony was just perfect. We were very pleased with our last minute gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EEBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
6.9 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
6.9 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel

Property: Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Address: 488 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2455
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Adirondack Waterfront Saranac Lake's only GREEN lodging property- Offering waterfront accommodations on Lake Flower In Saranac Lake with access to over 30 miles of Adirondack waterways, including Upper, Middle, and Lower Saranac Lakes. Walk to shopping, dining, galleries, and enjoy our events; including the entertainment in neighboring Lake Placid NY. Only 20 minutes to Whiteface Mountain, where you'll find year round activities! Stay GREEN in the Adirondacks - Rated a Platinum Property by Audubon International's Eco Lodging Program - the highest designation possible, 1 of only 8 in North America. Saranac Lake Inn is committed to a new vision, fresh eco-conscious perspective, attention to detail and style, and a welcoming environment for our guest's from our family owned and operated lodge. Our rooms have been remodeled, redressed, and recycled with the environment in mind! The Adirondacks Recreation Resort Our focus is all about our guest's experience and making Adirondack recreation accessible. We provide a large variety of amenities and perks to help complete your trip; to make it easy for you to try a new activity while on vacation. Kayaks, bicycles, canoes, tennis, snowshoes and ice skating complementary with your stay- Just to name a few! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gauthier`s Saranac Lake Hotel Saranac Lake
Gauthiers Saranac Lake Hotel
Gauthiers Saranac Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing