We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Retro Adirondack!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amanda's Village Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Poplarville, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Retro Adirondack!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hubby and I stayed the night for a retirement party downtown; we decided on Amanda's on a whim because it was within walking distance. Adorable place, owners were lovely, room was spotless and reminded me of the Lake George camps of my childhood (only with heat!). A great, affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weefarmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    27
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
39
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
buffalo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

As others have said, the owners are really nice folks. We stayed two nights recently and ended up in the smallest room. It was fine. We're not big folks, and the room. wasn't tiny, just smaller than some. The room was clean and well cared for. My only complaints are that the wi-fi wasn't very good, and it was a bit pricey for what it was. The first could be resolved with a better router, and the second is probably due to location way it goes in Saranac Lake.

Room Tip: Reserve early. I waited too long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wahlstrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynantskill, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This Motel is very clean, quiet and very close to shops and resturants. Joe and Edie are sooo very nice and treat you like family. Morning coffee is good and hot. They take the time to make you feel welcome !!!!! We come back every year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toni p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otego, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. Edie & Joe are so friendly and helpful - and Joe makes a great cup of AM coffee! We were in town for some hiking and they offered great advise and were always friendly as we headed out. The motel is also walking distance from downtown unlike some of the others on the lake & still a quick drive over to Lake Placid - would highly recommend and definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Amanda's is a good place to stay when travelling in the Lake Placid area. The rooms are very clean and include a mini fridge which is a bonus. The only drawback for us was the mattress. It was very soft with a dip in the centre which is not very comfortable if you need firm support. However, the hosts, including Tristan the dog, were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motorcycling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely motel in a great location opposite Lake Flower. The Blue Moon Cafe in mMain Street is perfect for Breakfast, lunch or dinnerEddie and Joe are great hosts and the rooms are immaculate though slightly dated. I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Edie and Joe were fantastically hospitable. They asked us if everything was okay and we mentioned a burned out light which was fixed almost immediately. The motel itself is a bit old school in decor, but very clean and well-maintained. The lake facing views were lovely and you were within walking distance of just about everything you needed. I'd recommend highly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyday B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0.7 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
437 reviews
7.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,266 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
6.7 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
327 reviews
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda's Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda's Village Motel

Property: Amanda's Village Motel
Address: 185 River Street, Saranac Lake, NY 12983
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Adirondack motel is open year round, located on River Street opposite the park and public boat launch with spectacular views of Lake Flower. We are within walking distance of the downtown shopping district, numerous restaurants, churches and a host of entertaining activities. Lake Placid and its many activities are only an eight-minute drive away. All rooms at Amanda's are non smoking since 2003. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amanda`s Village Hotel Saranac Lake
Amandas Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing