We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will stay here again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amanda's Village Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amanda's Village Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Albion, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Will stay here again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Met Joe when we checked in and got the inside scoop on where to go for dinner. LaBella's - a great choice! Room and bathroom were very nice and clean. Walking distance to downtown, and a block away from convenience store, all directly across from Lake Flower, Best value for the money!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crice14411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    26
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
39
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Edie and Joe are the most congenial owners we've ever met. We enjoy Amanda's Village so much that we've stayed there on the average of once a month for about 10 years. We call number 6 our home away from home, and Edie and Joe try to rent us that unit whenever it's available. The entire property is extremely clean both inside and out. There's never a cobweb or speck of dust anywhere inside, and the grounds are nicely decorated with the flowers and greenery of each season.

The location is delectable in that it's only a hop to a delicious restaurant to it's left, is across the road from Lake Flower, which provides a relaxing atmosphere in which to read a book, and since we're hikers, it's very important that Amanada's Village is very near the high peaks. If shopping is what tickles your fancy, Amanada's is very conveniently located less than 10 miles from Lake Placid.

We stay there as often as we can. -Jerry and Debbie

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 195448812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Firstly the location is very nice, just across the road from Lake Saranac and the people couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.
The room prices were reasonable for the area.
Unfortunately the room was small, hot (no air con) and had a view either of the chalet in front (you could just see the lake if you looked to the right and craned your neck), or the scrap yard at the back (we had a lovely view of a rusting VW camper right against the window).
The bathroom was tiny and the shower was a lottery! If a neighbour flushed the loo while you were in it, you either froze or boiled.
This said, the area was lovely and Lake Saranac was very pretty.

Room Tip: Get the ones in the block in front of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

For a 5-night stay in Saranac Lake, I made long-distance reservations at Amanda's because it was inexpensive and I was traveling by myself. Uncertain about what to expect, I reserved only two nights. But what a nice place it turned out to be. The room was very clean, nicely furnished, partially wood paneled, and cozy. The bed was better than my own at home, the tub/shower was brand new, I could park right outside the door, the owners Joe and Edie were exceptionally pleasant -- and I stayed the entire five nights.

I've usually stayed at places for three or four times the cost when not traveling alone, but this is the first accommodations review I've ever been inclined to write. I'd recommend the motel to anyone who doesn't need a pool or a "big name" sign out front.

Room Tip: Prefer front building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougMadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

Both my mom and brother have stayed at Amanda's Village Motel and were pleased with the rooms and the owners. So, when i was recently displaced from my apartment because of flooding, Amanda's was where i went. There is no place like home, but if you can't be there Amanda's is the next best thing! I was there for 12 days and had the pleasure of having several conversations with the owners Joe and Edie. This is no "big box" motel. It has personality as do the owners, a welcome relief these days. Joe and Edie made me feel at home and although i told them i was "low maintenance" and didn't need much, they took very good care of me and my room. I highly reccomend this motel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim1322000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury Center, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

One of our favorite places to stay in the area. Very dog friendly, and they have always remembered our dog's name from year to year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrill, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

Amanda's is a great place and a great value for anyone looking for simple accommodations as you explore the many great places to explore in the area. The owners are very friendly and helpful and were great source of information about walking my dog. Will definitely be back next summer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 8 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
7.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
7.1 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#21 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
6.7 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda's Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda's Village Motel

Property: Amanda's Village Motel
Address: 185 River Street (Rt.86), Saranac Lake, NY 12983
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Adirondack motel is open year round, located on River Street opposite the park and public boat launch with spectacular views of Lake Flower. We are within walking distance of the downtown shopping district, numerous restaurants, churches and a host of entertaining activities. Lake Placid and its many activities are only an eight-minute drive away. All rooms at Amanda's are non smoking since 2003. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amanda`s Village Hotel Saranac Lake
Amandas Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing