We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stress free weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Saranac Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We state at the Kiwassa Lake B&B this past weekend. The place is beautiful and decorated wonderfully. We stayed in the Moose room which was more than big enough for the two of us. Marjorie went above and beyond for breakfast. As I have celiac disease I am unable to eat anything with Gluten in it. Marjorie made sure we still had a wonderful breakfast. Her and her husband also gave us some very good recommendations for places to eat dinner. We felt very welcome in their home and will be back to visit. Hopefully in the fall so we can enjoy the beautiful mountain views.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 109 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

My Girlfriend and I were able to slip away for mothersday weekend to the lake placid saranac lake area for a weekend recently. We had a wonderful trip and were blessed to enjoy the hospitality of the Cochranes at their beautiful b and b on Kiwassa lake in the adirondacks. nice clean rooms pleasant people beautiful lake views and sweet peace and quiet. Many thanks to them for making our stay so wonderful. And German pancakes rule!!!!

Frank and Lorie

Room Tip: all of the rooms were great we stayed in moose but had a chance to look at them all and were impress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Kiwassa Lake B&B this past week and had a wonderful time. The place is beautiful, rustic, clean and in great shape (unlike many aging b&bs and hotels in the Adirondacks). The room we stayed in the, the Eagle room, has lots of windows with a great view of the lake (which was covered in snow). The place itself is a bit out of the way outside of Saranc Lake but easy to get to. If you are coming to the Adirondacks to actually get away, this is probably what you are looking for.

On top of that, Marjorie was a wonderful host: friendly, helpful, flexible and accommodating. We'd happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the Eagle view or Pine view rooms to get the best view of the Lake. The Pine room also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beneffervescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Where shall I begin? From the moment we arrived in this serene spot we were on vacation mode. We are innkeepers ourselves and treasure our time off and look to TripAdvisor for guidance on our own vacations.

Our room was cozy and immaculate with a beautiful view of Kiwassa Lake. Margie was incredibly warm and welcoming and happy to share her years of experience with us. She went above and beyond the call of duty for us; we were negotiating a business transaction which she facilitated in FAXing information back and forth for us. She's a genuinely nice person and was happy to do this for us. We even traded a few recipes along the way!

In addition, Margie was able to recommend restaurants and hikes in the area, as well as let us use their kayaks on our last beautiful, warm morning. Kiwassa Lake connects to many of the surrounding lakes as well, and one can paddle for hours. This is a beautiful spot, and we would highly recommend a stay at this wonderful,hospitable B & B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandDonna175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We found this lovely B&B by accident. Usually we go to the Finger Lakes for my birthday weekend but this year the place we usually go was closing early so we started searching for B&B's in the Adirondacks. We came upon this one by accident...the name Kiwassa was on a kayak we had looked at earlier in the summer.
I've been coming to the Saranac Lake area for over 40 years and had never known about this gem of a lake. It's a 5-10 min drive from the village over a beautiful winding road. Our room was spacious, quiet and had a gorgeous view of the lake. It was also immaculate. I knew I was in the right place when the decor included two of my favorites: dragonflies and Black eyed Susans!
I also liked the fact that breakfast was at 9 a.m. So nice to be able to sleep in a bit on vacation.
The breakfasts were delicious and served over looking the lake.
We brought our kayaks and spent time exploring Kiwassa Lake but also went down a neat channel that connected to another lake nearby. Very peaceful and quiet with loons accompanying our trip the entire time.
Since the weather was a bit rainy we had a chance to explore the village of Saranac Lake which we don't usually get to do when we are up visiting family at Lake Clear in the summer. Marge also provided tips for 2 great restaurants for lunch! It's also not far to Lake Placid where we went for my birthday dinner. We did get in a short hike on the last day up a mountain right in the village-Baker Mt. Even though it was misting the entire time and no view through the clouds at the top, it was fun to climb. We'd hoped to do one in the high peaks, but again, the weather prevented it. However it's close to several good hikes and lesser mountains but not too far from high peaks area.
All in all it was a great weekend despite the weather. We will definitely be back! Hopefully this winter to do some skiing and snowshoeing.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, clean and new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Lainey, Owner at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you, Jan, for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you here and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Of the three B&Bs we visited on our trip Marj won the breakfast award hands down! She was very generous on so many levels during our stay. Beautiful rooms and views of the lake, terrific kayaking and loon watching out the front door, great hikes nearby. You feel remote and yet it's a short drive to Saranac Lake. Very kind hosts, gay friendly -- we felt very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

a friend of mine and I spent the weekend in a cabin, we brought our books, journals and just wanted to relax and unwind away from the rat race we call life, the view and lake are spectacular. We felt so relaxed and peaceful while at this location. Breakfast was great and the hosts were fabulous. I would highly recommend this location for anyone that loves the adirondacks and wants to be in the woods relaxing! Thanks Margie, we'll be back~

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank nancy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
9.6 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
499 reviews
8.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat
Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat
#1 of 1 in Lake Clear
87 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1150 Kiwassa Lake Rd, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-8314
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saranac Lake
Price Range: $293 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwassa Lake Bed and Breakfast is a waterfront, Adirondack B&B offering four oversized guest suites, each with a private bath. Some rooms offer a balcony overlooking the lake and one offers a fireplace. Although once you get here you'll feel like you're a million miles away, the property is just three miles from the Village of Saranac Lake and ten from the Olympic Village of Lake Placid. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, free parking, boats/kayaks/canoes for rent and gourmet gift baskets for a fee. Come visit us - you'll be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast At Cochran`s Cabins Hotel Saranac Lake
Kiwassa Lake Bed And Breakfast At Cochran`s Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing