We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend get away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Saranac Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend get away!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We found this lovely B&B by accident. Usually we go to the Finger Lakes for my birthday weekend but this year the place we usually go was closing early so we started searching for B&B's in the Adirondacks. We came upon this one by accident...the name Kiwassa was on a kayak we had looked at earlier in the summer.
I've been coming to the Saranac Lake area for over 40 years and had never known about this gem of a lake. It's a 5-10 min drive from the village over a beautiful winding road. Our room was spacious, quiet and had a gorgeous view of the lake. It was also immaculate. I knew I was in the right place when the decor included two of my favorites: dragonflies and Black eyed Susans!
I also liked the fact that breakfast was at 9 a.m. So nice to be able to sleep in a bit on vacation.
The breakfasts were delicious and served over looking the lake.
We brought our kayaks and spent time exploring Kiwassa Lake but also went down a neat channel that connected to another lake nearby. Very peaceful and quiet with loons accompanying our trip the entire time.
Since the weather was a bit rainy we had a chance to explore the village of Saranac Lake which we don't usually get to do when we are up visiting family at Lake Clear in the summer. Marge also provided tips for 2 great restaurants for lunch! It's also not far to Lake Placid where we went for my birthday dinner. We did get in a short hike on the last day up a mountain right in the village-Baker Mt. Even though it was misting the entire time and no view through the clouds at the top, it was fun to climb. We'd hoped to do one in the high peaks, but again, the weather prevented it. However it's close to several good hikes and lesser mountains but not too far from high peaks area.
All in all it was a great weekend despite the weather. We will definitely be back! Hopefully this winter to do some skiing and snowshoeing.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, clean and new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Lainey, Owner at Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you, Jan, for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you here and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Of the three B&Bs we visited on our trip Marj won the breakfast award hands down! She was very generous on so many levels during our stay. Beautiful rooms and views of the lake, terrific kayaking and loon watching out the front door, great hikes nearby. You feel remote and yet it's a short drive to Saranac Lake. Very kind hosts, gay friendly -- we felt very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

a friend of mine and I spent the weekend in a cabin, we brought our books, journals and just wanted to relax and unwind away from the rat race we call life, the view and lake are spectacular. We felt so relaxed and peaceful while at this location. Breakfast was great and the hosts were fabulous. I would highly recommend this location for anyone that loves the adirondacks and wants to be in the woods relaxing! Thanks Margie, we'll be back~

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, NY
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I came across Kiwassa Lake B&B searching the internet for B&Bs in the Adirondacks and what a find it was. It exceeded my expectations by far! Where to begin? Upon arriving we were greeted by their beautiful black labrador Laney who immediately rolled over for a tummy rub…right there, I knew this was going to be a great experience. The rooms are immaculate and oh so clean, the ambiance tranquil, the views spectacular, the breakfasts delicious and the hosts are helpful, knowledgeable and extremely friendly. Margie has every detail covered even right down to the proliferation of bird feeders outside the balcony so we could sit quietly watching hummingbirds perch briefly in the trees before swooping in for a feed.

As a bonus, for kayak enthusiasts, Kiwassa Lake is perfect for a leisurely paddle or for the more energetic and adventurous amongst us; a few miles paddling up river through lock gates will find you in Lower Saranac Lake with its maze of little islands perfect for a picnic lunch. Although, I would love to keep this new found gem a secret that would be really selfish. Kiwassa Lake B&B comes highly recommended for that moment of escape from our hectic lifestyles.

Room Tip: All four rooms are spectacular and well appointed (we got to see them all during our stay). However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kiwassa Lake B&B for 4 nights in late August, our second annual stay at this lovely inn. We woke up each morning to a panoramic view of lake, steam rising off the water, and the state park forests beyond. Off we'd go in a canoe for a pre-breakfast paddle to look for loons and enjoy the cool breezes. Then a swim in the cold lake waters to work up an appetite for a delicious breakfast and pleasant conversation with our hostess and friendly and interesting guests. Fortified, we would head out for a hike up a mountain to enjoy views of the Adirondack lakes and peaks. Saranac Lake is an excellent "home base" from which to enjoy nature and wonderful dinners in town or in nearby Lake Placid (try The Cowboy on Rte 86 approaching Lake Placid). We'd also recommend a visit to the Wild Center in Tupper Lake and the Visitor Interpretive Center and surrounding trails in Paul Smiths.

Room Tip: All four rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddiemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I needed an escape to unwind for a few days. We had a very nice comfortable room with a picture window and small private balcony overlooking the lake. Enjoyed the company of the hosts and the other guests. Beautiful place to kayak, fish, watch the birds, enjoy the sunset on the dock and finish a bottle of wine as the stars come out. We hiked, shopped interesting stores and ate in good restaurants. Learned a lot about loons and spruce logs for construction of long spans. I must say the fish in kiwassa are much smarter than in the next lake through the channel. In lake Oseetah the perch and pike kept us very busy. Can't wait to go back. Oh yea.. Breakfast was excellent.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place was a little bit hard to find but once you got there it was wonderful. The hosts were wonderful without being overly chatty, the breakfasts were delicious and the lake was beautiful and easy to kayak or canoe, even if you aren't very experienced. We spent only 2 nights but would definitely return for a longer period. The B&B rooms were big and very attractive. The ones with a view of the lake were especially nice. The cabins looked more rustic but still comfortable and with their own docks if they were on the water.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
2.7 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
437 reviews
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,266 reviews
8.6 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
8.2 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
327 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1150 Kiwassa Lake Rd, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-8314
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwassa Lake Bed and Breakfast is a waterfront, Adirondack B&B offering four oversized guest suites, each with a private bath. Some rooms offer a balcony overlooking the lake and one offers a fireplace. Although once you get here you'll feel like you're a million miles away, the property is just three miles from the Village of Saranac Lake and ten from the Olympic Village of Lake Placid. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, free parking, boats/kayaks/canoes for rent and gourmet gift baskets for a fee. Come visit us - you'll be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast At Cochran`s Cabins Hotel Saranac Lake
Kiwassa Lake Bed And Breakfast At Cochran`s Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing