We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beer and Wings”
Review of Captain Cooks Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Captain Cooks Bar and Grill
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Rainbow Lake, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beer and Wings”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Great spot in Saranac Lake to grab a beer or some chicken wings. They have some other items on the menu, but we always go for the wings. They make big crispy wings with a great sauce. The TNT is my favorite ....nice and spicy! The mild is very flavorful and Houston is a great BBQ style.
Nice selection of draft beers, 8 to 10. Good mix of craft beer and the big brewers.
Wednesdays are Wing Night, $5 for a dozen and they run beer specials.
All and all a great spot to meet with friends and grab some food!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fritz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was great; bar was a bit more of a dive than we had expected!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to have dinner in Saranac Lake. We didn't really want a fancy or expensive place this particular evening, and Captain Cooks had received very good reviews from TripAdvisor, so we decided to try it. We knew it was going to be a bar rather than a restaurant, but still, when we walked in, we were a bit taken aback! The bulk of the floor area was taken up by a pool table; there were maybe two tables were people could eat. I whispered to my wife, it's OK with me if we just have a beer here and go somewhere nicer for dinner! But she was game to stay and eat there. In fact, we wound up just sitting at the bar to eat.

The draft beer selection was OK -- better than I might have expected from the atmosphere. One of the selections was Sierra Nevada IPA which I always like, so I was happy. The food that each of us had was excellent -- no complaints at all, and the price was reasonable.

So we fully concur with others that have given it high marks for food. Just be advised that it is very definitely a bar, and not a real fancy one at that!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bass389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to have a beer and wings”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

More of a bar than anything but my wife and I still went there and ordered some wings and turned out to be a lot of fun. The wings were really good but not for families!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Drum, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall.”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The food was great and the bartender was friendly it was a great place to stop for lunch while passing through the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Smiths, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wing Night ”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Great drinks & wings, and a cool atmosphere to hang out with friends. The service is friendly and the bar has a nice selection.

Helpful?
Thank Jullian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Cooks Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing