We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ice cream - honest people!”

Mountain Mist Custard
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Saranac Lake
Restaurant details
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good ice cream - honest people!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed our ice cream cones. Great dipped cones. More importantly, however, was what the young woman who was working there did during our August 2013 visit. My husband left his wallet at the Mountain Mist location on Saranac Avenue, closer to Lake Placid. He was a few hours gone when he realized his wallet was missing. She looked inside to find our hotel key card and called the front desk of our hotel to let them know she had my husband's wallet. :) We were very appreciative. Thank you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisM3102000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saranac Lake, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Favorite local ice cream”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I love bringing my daughters here for an ice cream treat. We sit by the lake and eat our ice cream while enjoying the pretty view. The variety of flavors keep us all happy. The cheeseburgers are also delicious. Service is quick and the staff is friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kln2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moira NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Soft Ice cream”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Best soft ice cream in the town, Second only to Donnelly's on route 86 on the northern outskirts of SL.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Being from Rochester, the home of Abbott's custard, we tend to be critical of other ice cream. We stayed within walking distance of the Mountain Mist and visited every night (with one exception - had to make the drive to Donnelly's one night). Tried a variety of options and all were good. The "throw-back" ice cream stand atmosphere fits well with the area, and they just added new docks and seating on the water.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank daopenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“On the lake”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Yummy frozen on Flower Lake on a warm summer evening. Perfect! Try the hot fudge sundae. Delicious! Parking is a bit difficult and the lines can be long, but this is well worth your wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoBlueJackets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Mist Custard also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Mist Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing