We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Owl's Nest Pizza Parlor
Ranked #20 of 37 Restaurants in Saranac Lake
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We ordered a jumbo size cheese pizza. Since the place is a dive we ordered it for take out. Definitely a place we will return to when on vacation next summer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
at78rpm
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

A pizza place is supposed to make, if nothing else, good pizza. Owl's Nest fit this bill for several years. Their pizza had a good bubbly crust, base was nice and thin, the tomato sauce was superb -- not too much oregano, not too much salt or sugar. The toppings were excellent, too, especially mushroom and meatball. But that was up until about 2009. Then something happened.

My wife knew there was a problem when she ordered a mushroom pizza and I looked disappointed when I saw it. She said, "What's wrong?" Whereupon I told her how much I detest Pizza Hut. It was quite surprising to me to find it was not from Pizza Hut, but from Owl's Nest. Bland sauce, flat and dry end crust, out-of-the-can tomato sauce. I thought surely this was a mistake, so we didn't hesitate to order again some time later. Same experience. And so it has been for these years since. It's more or less the same as what you'd get in a chain pizza place, but for twice the price and a tenth the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank at78rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Town!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Wish they stayed open late on weekends! They closse early so order ahead!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GMRRI203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“After school pizza place.”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

These guys deliver. Good pizza and pretty extensive menu for the size of the place. They do a lot of take-out. Local school kids head here at the end of the day to grab a slice. Quick service.

Helpful?
1 Thank SirTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Again and again”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Try giant pizza live it!! Great little spot ... lots if great food we are still working threw the menu love this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berny781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owl's Nest Pizza Parlor also viewed

 

Been to Owl's Nest Pizza Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing