We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and renewed on Kiwassa Lake!!!!”
Review of Cochran's Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cochran's Cabins
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We had a wonderful experience while staying at Cochran's Cabins. We stayed in Camp George. It is a rustic cabin and ,maybe not for everyone, but was just what we were looking for...you are in the woods in the Adirondacks...so the peace is incredible! I loved getting up in the morning, having my coffee while watching the mist rise from the lake!Margie is a wonderful host...very knowledgable and helpful with things to do in the area.
I hope others will find the tranquility that we found at Cochran's Cabins.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lola54126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

We loved staying at Cochran's Cabins! The owners are friendly, and the water and woods there are just beautiful. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and basic - not luxurious, but we weren't there to hang out in the cabin, we were there to be outdoors. It was quiet, peaceful, just a great spot to relax as a family - the kids found plenty of fun around the boats and lake front and also hiking in the woods.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueValleyCottage_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

My girlfriends and I wanted to get away and have a fun-filled girly vacation. We were able to really relax and be outdoors at this property. We cooked, drank wine and played games from the comfort of our own private kitchen. During the day we had our choice of many outdoor activities from canoeing, water skiing, and hiking. There's even a secret pond that the owner will give you directions to. It's an easy boat ride away. There's no lights on the properties, which makes it perfect for stargazing. While the cabin was very rustic, it had great charm and character, perfect for our reunion with the girls.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdcrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

A friend and I rented Camp Jenny at Cochrane Cabins for a week and had a wonderful time. It was rustic, but much less so than we expected. They just added a new deck to the cabin, which was wonderful and on the nights when the bugs got bad, the screened in porch was delightful. The owners are so incredibly nice! I forgot to bring my blankets and they were happy to lend me some. We rented Kayaks from them for a day which was also really fun. Camp Jenny was nicely secluded so we could let our two little dogs run around - they also had a great time!

I'd love to take more friends up here and stay again.

Thank angelkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

A tripadvisor user recommended Lake Saranac as the best place to stay in the Adirondacks and we were not disappointed. Cochrans Cabins was a perfect haven.

We stayed in one of the cabins 5 metres from the edge of Lake Kiwassa and cooked our own breakfast in our own dinky kitchen every morning. We ate on the porch, hung out with Lainey the dog, went canoeing from our own pier, and were in 10 minutes drive of many amazing long walks. The owners were more than helpful, especially letting me use the phone and web when trying to book our next hotel. The town is great too for food and supplies. Lake Placid is a short drive if you want to get a bit more touristy.

We saw deer, bald eagles, woodpeckers but alas, no bears... We would go back every weekend if weren't living in London, UK!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hooolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

Cochrans cabins is the perfect get away. The property is breath taking, the cabins are cozy and the people are delightful. I enjoyed my time here so much that I already booked a return trip this August.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BethRN28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huitorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saranac Lake hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
496 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Point
The Point
#3 of 9 in Saranac Lake
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
109 reviews
2.9 mi away
Adirondack Motel
Adirondack Motel
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
161 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lake Flower Inn
Lake Flower Inn
#6 of 9 in Saranac Lake
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cochran's Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochran's Cabins

Address: 1150 Kiwassa Lake Rd, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-8314
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saranac Lake
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located among the Kiwassa maples on Lake Kiwassa and Kiwassa Outlet, Cochran's Cabins are just three miles from the Village of Saranac Lake in the Adirondack Mountains. The property is nestled on over twenty wooded acres at the end of the road, on the water's edge of Lake Kiwassa. Offering 12 cabins, 1 lean-to, boat rentals and camping logistics. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing