We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, rustic, peaceful, relaxing, friendly...perfect!”
Review of Cochran's Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cochran's Cabins
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Private, rustic, peaceful, relaxing, friendly...perfect!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have always tented and decided to upgrade to a cottage this year but still wanted to have the 'in the woods' feel. Camp Adelle in Cochran's Cabins was the perfect choice. It was rustic but provided many amenities that are missing in a tent! The Cochran's also run a bed and breakfast on the property and they exude such warmth that I would imagine that is a wonderful experience, as well. We had some plumbing difficulties early on in our stay and they were promptly fixed---a new toilet and pipe work within a few hours!! The owner sent over a basket of fresh muffins for our trouble--how nice is that?? Their website provides realistic summaries of each cabin and it truly is as private as they describe. We used the cottage as our base camp and did extensive hiking in the nearby high peaks as well as kayaking and swimming right from our cabin. We will definitely be back, it was ideal!

Room Tip: Most cabins are on the water and very private...the website provides realistic details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hutch209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Lainey, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your vacation. As you experienced, we strive to keep our guests happy - when issues arise, which doesn't happen often, we're glad to have efficient, experienced on-site maintenance that can resolve issues. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victor, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our family camps regularly in the Adirondacks. We normally camp on one of the islands on Lower Saranac Lake. But with two toddlers in tow now we thought we would try to find something with a little easier access, but would still be able to put our kayaks in the water and go swimming. The pictures online were pretty deceiving compared to what we encountered. One of the boat docks was pushed sideways off its base and we were told not to use it. The shore was all mud and the other dock was too high for us to be able to get in our kayaks. There was a cabin on the other side with better water access, but it was not part of Cochran's Cabins. Luckily nobody was there the first two days so we were able to get in and out of our kayaks near the site. Our only other option would have been to put the kayaks back on top of the car and drive to the B&B to use their dock... not quite what we had in mind... We were there to camp and kayak, not transport our kayaks by car to be able to access the water. Off to one side of the site there were about 6 old beer kegs just laying out in the open. Near the fire pit there was a pile of old boards with rusty nails sticking out of them. When we were shown the site we were told to be careful of them. There were random pieces of foam material, probably from the broken dock, all over the site. There was an old stove thrown into the bushes. We spent a good portion of the time we were there trying to ensure the toddlers didn't get into anything that would hurt them... not my idea of a fun camping trip...
All of this for a mere $500 for 3 nights... what a rip off! We were charged per person... really?? For a camp site! Not a cabin! Any other place we have ever camped at charged per camp site... not per person.
And I understand that they had a B&B to run, but the service we received was pretty poor. We stood around on the porch for about 15 minutes when we got there waiting patiently for someone to show up. We were pleasantly surprised to see a sea plane though and when someone finally showed up we were told that we could get a ride for a donation for gas money. So the next morning we showed up and was told that the gentleman who owned it had already gone out and wasn't going to again that day. Ok, no problem. He told us to come back the next day between 9:30-10 a.m. We showed up around 9:15, cameras in hand. We were walking around with the toddlers, they were playing on the porch and in the yard, when the owner came out and asked if she could help us. We told her we were renting a camp site and were there to take a ride in the sea plane. She told us that she was serving breakfast to her guests and that they weren't ready for business stuff yet, closed the door and made a point to lock it. What a way to treat paying customers. But I guess we just weren't worth her time because we weren't staying in the B&B. Needless to say, he finally showed up and we were told he wasn't going to take the plane out that day. So glad we wasted over an hour waiting around and being treated poorly.
It was a very disappointing experience. The pictures online certainly made it look a lot nicer than it was, the price was ridiculous. We did our best to make the best out of a bad situation, but we left a day early, and we will never return to Cochran's Cabins.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenA389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Lainey, Manager at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Note that this review is for Cochran's Cabins and not Kiwassa Lake B&B.

We are sorry you were disappointed in your stay at the campsite we offer. We know the weather was not on your side which we know must not have been fun to camp in....

With a property this large, a heads-up from our guests when something is amiss is always helpful. We have corrected the issues we have been able to identify. You may be interested to know that the old cast iron stove is a remnant of a cabin that stood over 100 years ago near the current site of the lean-to. It remains there to this day and we like to keep it as a reminder of our lake's history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Cochran's Cabins web site depicts a beautifully groomed campsite on the water with access for boating. What we had was a campsite rife with weeds, wooden planks with nails sticking out of them, rusting beer kegs, a rusty stove thrown into the brush, old pieces of some kind of float material for a dock, and a broken dock pushed sideways off it's base. Mud and extremely low water level meant no access for boats or swimming.

While the low water levels could be explained due to very low rain and supposedly some work on the locks nearby, the pristine camping area felt more like a toxic waste dump site with the piles of planks, broken old, rusty stove thrown in the woods, and at least, six rusting beer kegs.

I would not recommend this site to anyone. There is a cabin right next to the site so if you are looking to get away from it all and enjoy nature this is NOT the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Lainey, Manager at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Note: the complaints on 8/11/12 and 8/12/12 were both from the same group and the same management response applies as follows:

I am sorry that we cannot control the weather nor the water levels in the lakes and streams.
However we can control what happens at Cochran’s Cabins and were never ever apprised of this situation until after the guests left. These complaints are grossly exaggerated and undeserved. I think our reputation speaks for itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family rented four cabins here for our annual week long family reunion. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed these rustic cabins in a beautiful Adirondack forest. Some may be put off by the rustic nature of these woodsy accommodations, but we loved it. The following are not exactly critiques but a few things to be aware of if you are thinking of staying here: Be prepared to scrub the place up before you leave, even at this price point you are expected to leave the place as you found it. Although technically on the water, most cabins are on a narrow inter-lake channel, boat traffic on this channel (especially during a busy summer weekend) definitely detracts from the serenity of the place. If you plan on bringing a boat and docking it in front of your cabin be aware of the heavy wakes of boaters speeding by well beyond the posted speed limit of 5 MPH. There is no outdoor lighting at all (which is delightful) so be sure to bring lots of flashlights (or even a camp lantern) if you plan on spending evenings outdoors. We did long for a nice Adirondack campfire but were told that these are strictly forbidden anywhere near the cabins. To be fair, there was a fire pit available a short walk away but since we couldn’t leave our non-ambulatory mother behind it was of little use to us. We made many fond memories here and would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Lainey, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We were so glad you visited our scenic spot and recognize how busy the waterway was due to July 4th weekend but we are glad you were able to enjoy peace and quiet the rest of the week. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My family has stayed at Cochran's every summer for about 25 years. The cabins are sturdy and cozy, many with wood burning stoves for taking the chill off of cool nights; the screened-in porches are the perfect place to enjoy a storm; and you can't beat relaxing on the expansive decks or your very own dock when you just want to sit a spell and let your cares drift away.... Each cabin is private, surrounded by woods, and situated on or right near the water. The Cochrans are gracious, helpful hosts, and we depend upon a daily greeting from Lainey. This is the perfect, quiet Adirondack get-away.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank NJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Lainey, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to seeing you year after year and have enjoyed having you. You're like family to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Berlin, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed in one of the housekeeping cabins for a week in early September 2010. The cabin is very clean ,comfortable and rustic. No TV, no phone, no internet and that's the way we like it. The wood stove used for heating is an added bonus. Great for those chilly Adirondack mornings. The channel, which connects Lake Kiwassa to a huge interlake water system, is about 25 feet from the door. The canoeing is fantastic. You can rent one or bring your own. Birding is superb. Sitting on the small dock is fun. Waving at the boats, canoes and kayaks as they go by becomes part of a daily routine. The town of Saranac Lake is only 15 minutes away ( excellent place to eat and walk around) but you get the feeling that you are "off the grid". This type of vacation cabin is not for everybody, but if you love the outdoors, hiking, boating, and peacefullneess, you will love this place. My wife and I have been coming here since 1996 and we will continue to vacation here for many years to come! The Cochran family are wonderful hosts and readily available to assist you with any needs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Lainey, Owner at Cochran's Cabins, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! It is always nice to have you here - it seems like just yesterday we met in 1996 on your first visit. We look forward to seeing you (and your dog, Major) again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We had a wonderful experience while staying at Cochran's Cabins. We stayed in Camp George. It is a rustic cabin and ,maybe not for everyone, but was just what we were looking for...you are in the woods in the Adirondacks...so the peace is incredible! I loved getting up in the morning, having my coffee while watching the mist rise from the lake!Margie is a wonderful host...very knowledgable and helpful with things to do in the area.
I hope others will find the tranquility that we found at Cochran's Cabins.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lola54126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
2.7 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
435 reviews
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,262 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
104 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cochran's Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochran's Cabins

Property: Cochran's Cabins
Address: 1150 Kiwassa Lake Rd, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-8314
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saranac Lake
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located among the Kiwassa maples on Lake Kiwassa and Kiwassa Outlet, Cochran's Cabins are just three miles from the Village of Saranac Lake in the Adirondack Mountains. The property is nestled on over twenty wooded acres at the end of the road, on the water's edge of Lake Kiwassa. Offering 12 cabins, 1 lean-to, boat rentals and camping logistics. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing