We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nuthin' Special"”
Review of The Waterhole

The Waterhole
Attraction details
Saranac Lake, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Nuthin' Special"”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Typical Bar for good ol' boozehound townies...wouldn't bring my GF to this place..occasional good bands, but not somewhere I'd bring anybody to impress 'em with the local "bar scene"

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
saranac lake
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“party”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

i don't frequent the place downstairs because it is dark and dingy and some of the clientele but the upstairs is great. went there for a retirement party it was clean, roomy a nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank minimo979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Where cleanliness goes to die.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This place was filthy when I was there. This is the type of place where a woman has to "hover" over the toilet to pee because sitting down may result in some sort of disease. Floor was dirty, people were dirty, even the beer bottles seemed grimy. Oh, not to mentioned the outrageous cover charge the night a "band" was there, if they could be called a band. Don't waste your time, or risk your health.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JustMyThought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cold Beers and Music”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great place in the Adirondacks to put some money in the juke...enjoy some Almman Brothers or Stones and drink some icy cold beers with friends on the porch.....shoot a little pool.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Touch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What happened to this place?”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have been going here every year for a decade and its gone downhill every year since. Busiest night of the year and they rent the top floor to a class reunion. The owner kicks out the highlight of the night the yearly visit from the Mistress. After 10 years and several thousand dollars spent by us next year our crew will party in Placid for CANAM.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterhole also viewed

 

Been to The Waterhole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing