We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downhill Grill

Downhill Grill
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our table enjoyed nachos, jalapeño cheddar soup, burgers to order & Swiss slawlom. We also had Cajun fries, sweet potato fries & onion rings. Everything was excellent. Atmosphere was nice. I would definitely recommend this restaurant & will come back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben20red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    88
    33
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saranac Lake, NY
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Must not miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Here in the town I live, SLK, this great eatery moved over from LP. It's nicely located on Main Street. I love the food, the staff you know from around town, and it has a nice bar crowd. How lucky am I ?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ansophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good Service and Good American Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I toured New England for the two weeks September 23rd to 7th October 2013 to view the fall foliage. We travelled from Boston up to Bar Harbor, across to the White Mountains, down through Vermont, the Adirondacks and onto the Berkshire Hills. We selected our accommodation and eating places from Trip Adviser Reviews. We have reviewed each of the hotels, motels and bed and breakfast places that we stayed in and also many of the places we ate and drank in along the way. If you would like to view our reviews for the rest of the places on this trip click on my screen name on the left.
We ate at the Downhill Grill in Saranac Lake on the 30th September 2013. It is a fairly standard American type restaurant. The service was good and the food was nicely cooked and reasonably priced. We had spicy chicken wings for starters. These were supposedly “medium hot”, but were quite hot. I had a beef salad for a main and it was very nice, my wife had a steak and salad. Both main dishes were quite large and we both felt quite full leaving the restaurant.
If we came this way again we would eat here again.
Good Points: Friendly and efficient service, good portions and well cooked food.
Negative Points None.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCymruWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DANVILLE
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Tex-Mex food in an unlikely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This restaurant is probably the best in town. When you walk in, you can see it is informal dining, but it has a pleasing ambience. Our group of 6 were easily seated, and the hostess was very accomodating. The menu was quite varied, offering a selection for just about any type of palette. We were craving Mexican food and were very happy to be served an excellent quality dish of enchiladas, rice and beans. Nothing average about this dish -- quite tasty.

Overall, we enjoyed our experience here and would recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bhailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bon Appetit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Grill was recommended by our B & B hosts, and met their description and our expectations.
We arrived on a Saturday night, so were required to wait for about 20 minutes, which was no hardship. The menu is varied with a small but decent wine list. Service is friendly and prices are reasonable. We dined well and left satisfied.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Albin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downhill Grill also viewed

 

Been to Downhill Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing