We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downhill Grill

Downhill Grill
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saranac Lake, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I think the downhill Grill is a nice family restaurant. They have good foor & not outrageous prices. I would reccommend this restaurant. I especially like the Texan sandwich. Stop ny & give it a try!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    89
    33
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

While on a motorcycle ride one weekend, my wife and I passed through Saranac Lake and decided to stop for lunch. I asked a local for a recommendation, and it was this place. I had one of the days specials, which was brisket, pulled pork, mashed potatoes, etc. Awesome!...My wife had a salad that was very good as well.
Friendly staff, nice casual atmosphere, and good prices. What more could you ask? We will be back!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great service, delicious food and great prices. Our waitress was wonderful, attentive but not overbearing, food was really delicious, large portions and very reasonable. Would definitely go back if in Saranac Lake again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New York State
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Low Prices, easy to find on Main St.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food, good service and right on Main St. where you can watch life in Saranac stroll by. The Chili is great and the prices were very reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjrs314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Friendly and OK for a meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Maybe we should have ordered something other than fish and chips. The haddock was advertised as "fresh" but apparently, somewhere along the line, had been frozen and it showed. A little dried out. Not that I wouldn't eat there again and try something different. The value was good; service very friendly; and menu looked pretty good. But based on this meal I'd have to say "average"

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank doctoryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downhill Grill also viewed

 

Been to Downhill Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing