We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Left Bank Cafe

Left Bank Cafe
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: French Cafe/Bistro serving all day. Croissants & espresso, crepes & tartines, soups & salads, French Regional specialties, wine pairings, riverside dining in the summer. Annual break from November 14th to November 30th and Apri 19th to April 26th
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a treat. I wish I had this at home. A local enticed us to this treasure and we had a wonderful mid-morning breakfast with a deliciously prepared crepe, a sumptuous croissant and terrific coffee in a charming setting. I especially appreciate the warm hospitality. It was clear that Left Bank is a favorite with locals, always a great sign. I only wish we could have come back for lunch and dinner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrairiePaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    55
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere, excellent crepes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

A great place to sit by yourself and read a paper or meet a friend for lunch, good service but don't be in a hurry. You are not made to feel rushed when you are finished with your meal. Like how they automatically bring you water to your table in a pretty wine bottle. Nice fresh fruit served with your crepe and desert. Good cappuccinos. Anne who runs the restaurant also works in culinary at Paul Smiths College. Haven't tried their dinner yet but we are planning to go back for that soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitt785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the wait.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recently stopped by after picking my Francophile son up from a nearby camp. The place was nearly empty, but a bit crowded in the front. We walked to back of restaurant where a woman jumped out from behind the bar and said we couldn't sit anywhere in the back because they just had a call reserving tables for 13 people. ( Then put a "reserved" sign on the tables. ) We sat in the front where 2 other tables were filled, forced to listen to the pretentious loudmouth next to us, while the entire rear of the restaurant remained empty for the next 90 minutes. It took the waiter forever to take our order. It took even longer to bring my cafe au lait, and then it got cold while I waited for him to come back with the pots of tea for my son and husband. Tea arrived and there was a big hair in the empty cup. The waiter disappeared and we finally had to go to the bar to request a fresh cup. Instead of giving it to us, we were forced to wait for our useless waiter to fetch one. He never even apologized. The service was painfully slow and awkward. Having waitressed my way through college, I was completely disgusted. The omelettes took ages. I guess they've never watched Julia Child cook an omelette in just a few short minutes. What should have been a quick and pleasant 40 minute breakfast with fun conversation turned into a 90 minute "what not to do when running a restaurant" discussion. And to add insult to injury, the chairs are incredibly uncomfortable. Skip this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsScrappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Light, delicious and authentic french food * nice and excellent service * relaxing outside seating along the river * the Time we went there, they had live Jazz - excellent!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park Center, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gourmet dinner with our dog at Left Bank Cafe, Saranac Lake,NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I found LBC on the pet friendly site. We went to the restaurant in the morning to make sure they were pet friendly and they were very welcoming. We made reservations for 6:00PM that evening. When we arrived they had a reserved sign on our table which included our dog. They had a plate with two dog biscuits and a fresh bowl of water for our dog. Dogs are only allowed on the covered porch which faces the Saranac River, but it was very pleasant to sit there by the water. We felt so relaxed there that we had an appetizer, dinner, two glasses of wine and dessert and coffee. The food was excellent and our waitress was superb. The owner was very friendly and we had a nice conversation. There was a local man having dinner and we had a very pleasant conversation with him as well. We have been to Paris and I would say this cafe is comparable to any we ate at there. We travel with our dog, Winston, a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel frequently but never have felt so welcome as we did at the LBC. We will be back soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Left Bank Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Left Bank Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing