We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunday Pond Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Saranac Lake B&B and Inns
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It started out by not being able to find it. It's located on a dark road, and since we were arriving after sunset, we had a difficult time finding the driveway since the sign in the front of the B & B was not lit. There was enough space for the 9 people in our party, however, 3 of us had to share the loft. To get up to the loft you had to climb stairs so steep that to climb back down, you had to go backwards. The loft itself had sloping ceilings, so when getting out of bed you had to be careful not to hit your head. At least the loft had its own bathroom, but the ceilings sloped in that room too, making it impossible to stand up straight at the bathroom sink.

The main living room had baskets hung from the ceiling, so many that every time you walked into the kitchen you would hit your head on one of them. The living room was also cluttered with all sorts of knick-knacks. Every available space was covered. There was only one couch and the rest of the furniture consisted of straight back chairs.

The overall cleanliness was very poor. There was a layer of dust on much of the furniture, especially in the loft, and a mouse trap in the kitchen next to the refrigerator.

The owner only kept the K-cups out for breakfast and charged $40.00 to use the kitchen to prepare your own meals. The portions for breakfast were limited and the food was luke warm. The over all room temperature was too cool, so to stay comfortable you had to keep your coat on.

On the web site they advertise that it's the perfect place for the business traveler, yet they charge for Internet access and cell phone coverage is hit or miss. The location is about a 45 minute drive to Lake Placid, making access to the village not as accessible as I would have liked.

Overall, this B & B was dusty, cold , and not the " homey" place that one would expect from an establishment that calls itself rustic.

Room Tip: If looking to stay in or near Lake Placid, you would be better off paying a little more for a hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JobbaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed at Sunday Pond many, many times. I just can't say enough about the level of hospitality. If you are interested in spending time in this area of the park and are not looking to camp- this is the place. The food is fantastic. There are even 2 lean-tos on the property that have to be seen to be believed for those who want to sleep outside. The B &B is suited for couples, groups and singles a like, all will feel comfortable. Many people use it as a home base to explore the St Regis Canoe area and beyond. Plan ahead and reserve well in advance. The secret is out !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have a group of friends (total 8 in our group) that have met here every year for the past 6 or 7 years. We are hikers and kayakers. Dick, the owner of the B & B, has been very helpful in pointing out hikes and kayak routes. He has guided us in the right direction to meet our needs. My wife and I, in our first stay at Sunday Pond B & B, stayed in one of the lean-tos. We found the lean-to very comfortable with electricity and good screens so no bugs at night. The one problem with the lean-tos are that you have to use one of the outhouses. The toilets have been remodeled and are clean, but do require a very short walk from your lean-to. The next year we persuaded 3 other couples to join us and we booked the lodge and have done that ever since. We usually come in the fall before the trees change. Dick has been very accommodating to our group, we all enjoy his company and his local knowledge. His cooking can't be beat. The two other reviews below give you accurate information on this wonderful B & B. The only problem with these positive reviews is that others will try to book here and make it more difficult for us to get the dates we want. ;-) We always book a year in advance. Dick, the owner, has many people like us that book year after year. If you are lucky enough to get a date, take it. It may not be the date of your choosing; I think changing your plans will be well worth it.

Room Tip: The room in the loft has a very step stairs, or one might call it a slanted ladder. The loft room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sail270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires, MA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We found Sunday Pond B & B on the internet while looking for a place to stay in Saranac Lake, NY. What a great find! We celebrated our 20th anniversary here in January. There are 3 regular rooms on the first floor; a loft with access by steep, ladder-like stairs and lean-tos outside. We stayed in one of the first floor rooms. It was a perfectly fine room, just a tad on the small size, however. The loft was a very unique space, a bit of a hide-a-way for a larger group. The lean-tos, available in warmer weather, were built by the owner/host. The lean-tos provide the opportunity to stay outside, but with comforts like a real bed, screening and a privacy curtain. The grounds and common areas were beautifully decorated in a winter theme, includinfg lots of small, white lights. In addition, the host is quite the collector and had all manner of collectibles tastefully displayed throughout the B & B. Dick, our host, also is a car fan and is more than willing to provide those interested in a tour of his garage and automobilia collection. The website mentions an extra discount for anyone arriving in a Corvette! Breakfats were delicious with plenty of food. We enjoyed a French toast, garnished with sesame seeds, entree and an apple, sausage and cheese omelette entree during our stay. Dick said he has a 7 entree selection so that guests staying for a week may experience a different entree each morning. Dinner is available, by request, as an add-on. It should be pre-arranged with details on the website. Our steak and chicken parm. entrees were delicious and served with appropriate accompaniments. Sunday Pond is adjacent to some NYS wilderness areas for quick access to outdoor pursuits. Sunday Pond itself is about a ten minute walk through a wooded forest road. Dick was full of advice about local attractions (many!) and restaurants. He was a great host, very personable. We felt as though we had made a new friend while we stayed at Sunday Pond.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CFCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Dick the owner is your expert on just about everything having to do with the Adirondacks. He is a great chef, well organized, detail oriented host. You will spend the first 15 minutes just wandering around the common room marveling at all of his collections and regional art, decorations and reading material.

Wonderful hearty breakfasts of apple pancakes or french toast. One couple enjoyed a romantic dinner for two on their one year wedding anniversary prepared by Dick. They raved about it the next day.

The home was fully booked and we all enjoyed each others company throughout the visit. We all were thoroughly impressed with the care Dick placed into his business. And if you are good - maybe Dick will show you his classic Corvette and Garage memorabilia collection. Truly awesome!

One of many things that makes Sunday Pond unique is the Lean-To sleeping option. Lower cost outdoor option with a wonderful homey feel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hotglueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
9.5 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
15.3 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
8.4 mi away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
15.8 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday Pond Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday Pond Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sunday Pond Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5544 State Route 30, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-3312
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saranac Lake
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunday Pond B& B is a small bed and breakfast located in the heart of the Adirondack Mts. of New York state. We cater to the outdoor enthusiast with hiking, biking and cross country skiing from our front door. Kayaking,fishing and golf within 5 minutes. Full breakfast and relaxing atmosphere in a peaceful forest setting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing