We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sites on the water & family friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rollins Pond Campground
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Really nice campsites on the lake, many have their own private beaches! You can bring boats or rent them. The drive through fish creek campground was long but it makes you appreciate the more wooded sites in Rollins pond. Their were a lot people biking and their are many bathrooms, just only one shower house. Overall very enjoyable stay! If you want a quiet romantic retreat stay away during summer vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sweetiee_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Rollins pond is a lovely camp. I think it would be great to camp there in dry weather.

We had 82 which is supposed to have a beach, but it had been raining so much that the beach was flooded. It also doesn't get a lot of sun. So don't count on things drying well if it rains. I think that's true for a big part of Rollins Pond. If you go to Fishcreek, you will be much closer to your neighbors, but you get sun and guaranteed access to the water.

We did have a little issue with the noise from the neighbor's mattress, but it was minor.

Room Tip: The Rollins Pond sites are shady. Fishcreek sites 8 to 15 or so seemed to have too many trees for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhianon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I discovered Rollins pond in 2012. We were looking for a "secluded" campground that offered boating and fishing just as a means of unwinding and getting away. We chose the last week in May for our first experience and it was absolutely FANTASTIC! The campground was practically empty and coupled with the semi "Secluded" nature of the pond, left an entire corner of the pond/campground to ourselves. Nights were chilly and crisp which made a nice fire a real treat. We kayaked the pond thoroughly with really fun smallmouth fishing in the rocky outcrops (always catch and immediate release this early in the season). Kayaked the full moon nights after midnight to enjoy the beautiful starlit sky. Saranac and Lake Placid withing easy driving distance ( or motorcycle if your an enthusiast.......really great roads in the area.) with quaint shopping and dining. Facilities are adequate and close to each site. Showers are HOT..... a plus early in the season. We visited again this year and all was just as our previous year... A real treat! The Camp staff are very friendly and helpful and have gone out of their way to make our last stay a wonderful experience ( We asked that we be moved to a more remote site after arriving and having a "neighbor".... they gladly accommodated.
My only "gripe" is that the campground isn't open til the end of September. We would love to make a week of it once the the chill starts to come back to the nights and the trees ready for the seasons change.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JZ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Rollins Pond IS A 5 STAR campground,
1, if you want a campground with lots of trees this is the place for you,
2, the camp sites are deep in and big size,
3 , there Bath house has flush toliets , and are close ,about every 4 camp sites there is a Bath house.
4,at night it is dark, walking to the bath house, you do need a flash light. lots of trees and is a wooded campground so make it dark at night then must campgrounds.
5, you can rent canoes there and is a cheap price,
we head a rainy weekend but still had fun, went to the" Wild Center" near by in tupper lake.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank holly0beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I love this place. I have been coming here even since I was a kid, now grown up i share this place with my hubby. Great campsites, especially in the higher numbers 150 to the end more spacious and more distant from each other. Very quiet even thought in high season it can be very packed.
Flushable toilet within walking distance of each campsites, and hot shower within a quick drive. Most on-water sites have great beaches. Give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrswendeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I agree with ChrissyJG that it can be noisy with lots of kids and families in close proximity,and if that's not your bag you may have issues with this place. Some of the campsites are somewhat-secluded (10-20 yards of wooded area in between, but not much more), others are right on top of each other. The ReserveAmerica website does a fantastic job of showing multiple photo views of each site, as there is a wide variety to choose from in the 280+ campsites. On the plus side: The overwhelming majority of the campsites are lakefront, with an almost-private sandy beach for each site. It is truly a paddlers paradise with a near-endless chain of lakes to explore. A freindly rental facility can outfit you with whatever craft you like. And yes, the nightly ice-cream man was cool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dleit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our second anniversary camping at Rollins Pond. TO get to Rollins Pond you have to drive through Fish Creek Pond first. I'm SO glad we did not book at Fish Creek. It's so crowded, so many RV's and they are stacked on one another, literally. Rollins Pond is a little better. It's more wooded and you are still very close to your neighbors but it's not nearly as bad.

We are tenters and were definitely the minority at Rollins Pond. We were looking for peace and quiet and although there were quiet moments, there are so many kids and families that you constantly hear groups on the lake, on the walkways, etc. They deliver wood straight to your site which is great and there is actually an ice cream truck that comes to the different sites but this is not the camping we were looking for.

We decided that we will probably stay away from Rollins for the next few years but when we have kids, we are definitely coming back. Great place for families, not for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chrissyJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saranac Lake hotels
11.8 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
500 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Point
The Point
#3 of 9 in Saranac Lake
94 reviews
11.7 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
109 reviews
11.6 mi away
Adirondack Motel
Adirondack Motel
#2 of 9 in Saranac Lake
161 reviews
11.6 mi away
Lake Flower Inn
Lake Flower Inn
#6 of 9 in Saranac Lake
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rollins Pond Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rollins Pond Campground

Address: Star Route, Box 75, Saranac Lake, NY 12983
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saranac Lake
Number of rooms: 287
Also Known As:
Rollins Pond Campground Hotel Saranac Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing