We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Government (Park Service)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fish Creek Pond Campground
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“This Government (Park Service)”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Park charges a $5.00 per day extra charge if you are from Canada - kind of leaves a bad taste in your mouth! Also a one time service charge to register. Other than that - nice park with water access sites.

Room Tip: Check their web site for photos
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank pwuchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marcellus, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is hands down the best campgrounds I've ever been to. Adirondack beauty aside: the sites are amazing: all the ones we've stayed at are big. 90%+ are right on the water! The ones we have camped at have a little, tiny, sandy beach that my daughter really enjoyed. Comfort stations are close (every 10 campsites I think) and they have water faucets too. Each campsite has a fire pit- some are iron and some are cement block. An ice cream truck, ice truck, wood truck and even canoes for rent come around daily. Also, if you have a boat... you can dock it right at your site. Close to Lake Placid, Tupper Lake & Saranac Lake. We like to visit the Wild Center in Tupper Lake and explore shops in Saranac and Lake Placid. Fish Creek Pond ruined all other Campgrounds for me. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kisseliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

my family and I have been going to fish creek every year since my mom was a baby and then she took us to fish creek every year growing up and now we bring our own kids we sleep in tents and we bring our boat and our bikes and the dog and we have a great time the only time that it is not fun is when it rains and the wind picks up and the trees start to sway and some of the trees do fall on peoples stuff we have had it happen to us a few times but we still keep going every july for two weeks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This yr. was my 2 visit to Fish Creek. Went with friends who have been going there since they were kids. Almost every site (300+) surround the lakes (or ponds-haven't figured out the diff) and the bottom, at least around the shore, is sandy.....great for youngsters to wade - under supervision! There is an official beach and an amphitheatre although, I've never gotten to either. There is a store right outside the park to buy some basics which also has a small deli which makes subs. Restrooms are spaced about every 8-10 sites so never far away. NO elec. or water hookups and you would want to go online to http://fishcreekpond.com/ which has photos of each and every site, in all directions, because some could be problematic parking your bigger rig. Boat livery on lake rents canoes, kayaks etc. if you don't have your own.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
Level Contributor
221 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Every site (600) is on water! great place to canoe, boat, fish, relax, or just enjoy the great outdoors. There are no electric sites. This campgroud also has paved roads and trails for biking. High Peaks f the Adirondaks are nearby for hiking. There is also an outfitter nearby for canoe rental and equipment. The Wild Center in Tupperlake is also a short 10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewJPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Went on a road trip through new York state. We ended up staying at this site for 2 nights bc it was beautiful. More for people with a boat though. The site was nice and private although people where on both sides of us. Bathrooms where nice...a little bit too far spread apart but it was ok. Def bring a bike to ride around. And the back gate is only open from 8-4 just for ur info. There was a great little country store nearby and it was nice that the local people brought cars through a. Couple times a day with ice, coffee, snacks, ice cream, and fire wood that u could purchase! Was very convient!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lfenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Out of their 355 campsites, 319 sites are located directly on the water! Doesn't get any better than that! Many have their own small sandy beach with enough room to tie up a boat. Otherwise, it's a typical state campground, with friendly staff, plenty of water taps, flush toilets, and clean coin-op showers. The campground roads are very flat making it ideal for bringing your bikes or roller blades. The ponds are ideal for kayaking but big enough for motor boats, with access to Upper Saranac Lake which is very large and great for fishing, water skiing, and sight seeing. I go every year in July and September and often see the same families camping there year after year. The sites in some areas of the park are closer together than others, and some will easily accommodate large RVs.

Close to the towns of Tupper Lake, Saranac Lake, and Lake Placid. The July 4th fireworks in Tupper Lake are really great!

Room Tip: Check out fishcreekpond.com for info on each campsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IsItScenicYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
11.9 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
425 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
419 reviews
18.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
7.4 mi away
Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat
Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat
#1 of 1 in Lake Clear
84 reviews
18.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Creek Pond Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Creek Pond Campground

Property: Fish Creek Pond Campground
Address: 4523 State Route 30, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-3053
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saranac Lake
Number of rooms: 355
Also Known As:
Fish Creek Pond Campground Hotel Saranac Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing