We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Carnival is Spectacular” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saranac Lake

Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake region that was settled in 1819 as a health resort and recreation area for winter and summer sports.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Winter Carnival is Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I visited here for winter carnival. The carnival was a spectacular way to enjoy the winter weather. We did it all--went snowmobiling, had a bonfire on the ice, visited the ice palace, saw the parade, went to the rotary show, etc. It was so nice to see the town buzzing with activity. It was just a fabulous time! If you've been thinking about going to winter carnival--do it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KHMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    13
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
162 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Mt. Pisgah-ski area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a little treasure. We just wanted a little tubing place. I read the reviews and heard people say it was awful. We thought this was a picturesque place and the staff was as friendly as could be. It had a tow for the tubes and was perfect for our four yearnold and even the ten year old had fun. It was safe, easy, cozy, and gorgeous with surrounding mountains. It was not a thrill seeking mountain but just perfect for little kids and their families. We thought the only headache was the parking:( overall we had a lovely day there. I think the skiing is perfect for beginners.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, NY
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Winter Carnival is the oldest in the USA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Let me tell you what ! Besides Christmas, This is the best week of the winter. This year the carnival theme is Celtic. The carnival court float in the parade boasted its 117th annual event. The parade, the games, the fireworks, lots of entertainment fills the 10 day celebration. You should make sure not to miss this. Ck out the website http://www.saranaclakewintercarnival.com/photo-day
I love winter and this is my favorite week of the year.
I will try to attach some photos.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ansophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Winter Festival”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We traveled to Saranac Lake for the opening weekend of the Festival. The ice castle was very impressive ( especially at night ) but after seeing that and the Saturday fireworks display ( also impressive ) there wasn't much else to do. We did go and listen to some Celtic music and also had a quick dinner at the local Chinese restaurant. After the lighting of the castle and the fireworks we left. The next day we went and explored the area and Lake Placid so all was not lost. We were not disappointed we had a good time on the trip

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Qc
Level Contributor
366 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Great lake, great valley !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The area is gorgeous... the lake and the mountains surrounding it are worth a day or more in Saranac Lake. Great place to do some hiking, biking (if you like hills), canoeing, kayaking, etc... Actually, the whole valley is awesome and I recommend you spend some time around here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saranac Lake also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Saranac Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing