We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Lake”
Review of Saranac Lake

Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake region that was settled in 1819 as a health resort and recreation area for winter and summer sports.
Sayville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Lake”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were in the area to bring my son home from college. When we brought him up it was all very confusing (his first year), we didn't really get to see much. in January it was so cold. We came a little early to pick him up. He wanted to show us around your beautiful area. He is right it is lovely there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank carolmsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    14
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a very nice town to live in”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I love this town it is so peaceful there it is better then a city u don't have to worry about your kids walking the streets or your self because everyone there knows every one and they look out for every body there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“live here”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I live here so I'm biased. Great little town to raise kids. Nothing more beautiful than an Adirondack summer! Except maybe an Adirondack Fall!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SirTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malone, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elbow room and allergy aware.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I enjoy Little Itlay's gluten free pizza and Nori's natural food market. A little peace and quiet in a crazy world. Personal values still abound here!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveS_2EAT48102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility, Good Food and Entertainment”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Saranac Lake is a delightful little village I. The middle of the Adirondack Park in upstate NY State. It is a great place for first time visitors to the Park, and also a place where folks such as myself, who have visited many times, are drawn back to over again.

The centerpiece is Lake Flower, a beautiful small lake around which the village was built. It is pristine, perfect for kayaking or canoeing, and also appropriate for smaller motor boats. There is a free access point right in the village. The Lake also connects to other bodies of water, including my favorite, Lake Kiawassa, another beauty for boating.

Saranac Lake can boast of great restaurants (DO NOT miss the Eat 'n' Meet, a local institution) and other attractions. The Pendragon Theater is a local company made up primarily of residents, with the occasional imported actor. We've seeming numerous shows at this theater, and have never been disappointed with any of their presentations.

Another wonderful activity is simply to walk the streets of Saranac Lake to view the cure cottages that were built during the tuberculosis era. Families hosted patients in their homes, or converted their homes to cure cottages where patients would spend most of their hours out-of-doors breathing the healing air of the Adirondacks. Innumerable people recovered, including Martha Reben, who wrote her book, "The Healing Woods" about her years spent in the area recovering from the disease.

One warning: Once you have visited Saranac Lake, it will stay forever imprinted in your memory and you will want to return, again and again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Cedar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saranac Lake also viewed

 

Been to Saranac Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing