We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
137
39
13
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
137
39
13
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camp fire historic hotel gift shop campfire grill great hotel grand hall great room parking garage great renovation quaint little town winter carnival old charm venison chili ball room modern conveniences king deluxe room bedroom and bathroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Did a quick tally, have spent at least 28 nights in hotels so far this year in well over a dozen places. Far and away, the best experience I’ve had was at Hotel Saranac.

This is a super property in the center of town where most everything is walkable. The hotel is historic but has all of the modern conveniences. We were in a suite on the sixth floor and it was super nice. The bedroom and bathroom were huge. The separate living room was on the small side but more than adequate. The windows open a bit which is always a plus to get fresh air.

The even rooms face the lake and it’s a nice view. I’d guess that the other side of the hotel is just about as nice. The entire area is so picturesque.

Everybody we encountered was so very friendly from the staff who we called with a room request to the desk staff at check in and checkout, the Great Hall bartender and our breakfast waiter at Camp Fire.

When I’m back in the area this will be my go to place.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Preston1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Preston,
We can't imagine a better review, and we're honored to be your go-to accommodations here in town. From our friendly team to our tasty breakfast and well-appointed rooms, you can always count on us for an enjoyable stay. The next time you're in town, come back and see us here at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton. Our entire team is looking forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This beautiful and historic hotel has been carefully renovated to reflect the history of the village and it’s people. The details are meticulous and authentic allowing visitors to enjoy the unique and elegant ambience of the early years without compromising the comfort expected by today’s travelers.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank Stay49026183966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for joining us at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton! We have done our best to give our guests the experience of history without sacrificing the modern conveniences, and we're very pleased that our efforts earned your five-star review! We hope you'll join us again the next time you are visiting the Adirondacks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is a gem and Hilton Curio restored this hotel to new life. The rooms are a little small because of the era of construction, but they do not disappoint. The hotel was meticulously restored and refinished. The bar and restaurant were very good. You should really try this hotel the next time you are in the Adirondack region. There is TONs to do in the area. Visit Paul Smiths College too - it had a historical connection to the Hotel and produces some exceptional graduates!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank dblye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're thrilled to hear that we were able to deliver such a positive experience during your recent stay with us at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton. We're especially pleased that you appreciated the history of our property and its careful restoration. It's also good to know that you had the opportunity to try the bar and restaurant, as well as welcomed all the interesting activities to do in this great area. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

I am here in business for two weeks . Every day I have to try to connect to their internet . Once I do and go to get something to eat , it dumps my connection . So, when I return and think I am connected —NADA. BOY at the front desk got all defensive , then gave me a code for a month long connection that I should have received at check in as a Diamond member ! Actually, I didn’t know what a Diamond member was as I am not “that guy”! Going back to Marriott next time ! Beta boy at front desk was getting agitated, almost did a 2/75 Ranger move on his ass !! Rangers Lead The Way —-not staying here again!!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Pathfinder776393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Thank you for informing us of your concerns. We are sorry to hear that our internet portal was an inconvenience for you. Regardless of any connectivity issues, however, we strive to foster an atmosphere of respect here on-site and we expect our staff members to be treated with the dignity they deserve. We hope that the remainder of your stay reflected the high standards of comfort that we are known for. Visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019

Very impressive job bringing this gem hotel back to life. The amenities, service, restaurant and cleanliness were excellent. If your budget allows, I'd recommend upgrading to a premium king rather than regular king for a bit more space. This is a historic hotel so the regular room are a bit small but just as nice as the larger rooms. You'll love either.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear Heather,
We loved having you with us here at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton. Thank you for the encouraging and kind words! Our team is proud to deliver an exquisite experience with modern comforts in our historical property. Your review is a great resource for future guests, and we look forward to having you back for another stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews