We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Delightful!”
Review of Porcupine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porcupine Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Saranac Lake B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming and Delightful!”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My fiancé and I escaped to the Adirondacks for a relaxing getaway over the extended weekend. We stayed at the Porcupine Inn and could not have hoped for a better experience. The house is a gorgeous timber cabin style home that is beautifully appointed. The fireplace is perfect for sipping wine and playing games or catching up on some reading. We used the hot tub to relax after a day of walking and ice skating, and no doubt it's even better after snowshoeing or xc skiing. It's definitely large enough to accommodate 4 or even 5 people.

Meg is an extraordinary hostess. She was friendly and helpful with local suggestions. And she makes a mean french toasted croissant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    12
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
69
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here while visiting our son at Paul Smiths College. What a great place! Friendly owner, lovely spacious rooms. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in the Mohawk Room on 10/15/2011. The Inn was built in 1903 in the rugged Adirondack style of the time. The Inn has an interesting history. Our room had a fireplace and small but nice bathroom. The common area also had a fireplace. An adjoining room had an "honor" bar and full size pool table. Meg was very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast was excellent. The room was a bit expensive. We have previously stayed at the Fern Lodge. It's difficult and unfair to compare anything with the Fern Lodge. It was a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DruidPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We first stayed at the Porcupine in October '08 and returned for a much longer visit (a full week) in September 2011. We were delighted the first time we stayed and were excited to return. It is the perfect place to get away from the bussiness of everyday life and the house has the historic character and Adirondack charm that is great in the region. (check out the framed house blueprint in the breakfast room) It is a quiet, cozy place located in a quiet residential area not far from town. There are several spots to lounge in the B&B and the owner makes you feel like you are staying in an old friend's house - with her dinner/sightseeing recommendations, warm personality, easy banter, and overall house atmosphere. We felt equally at ease coming and going or hanging at the house all day. She is willing to take the time to answer any questions, joke around with you, and discuss music/books/hikes, etc. It is a smaller B&B and like another reviewer said if you are a good customer (i.e. polite and friendly) you will get excellent service back. We thoroughly enjoyed our time, our room, our hostesss, and the breakfasts! Hopefully we will find another time to return. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone! (There are a couple of items that need to be tweaked/updated on the website but otherwise everything is accurate.)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BranMuffin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

you can breath the atmosphere of the past here. We stayed in the Bartlett suite which is very big and confortable, but the room we liked best is the beautiful dining room where Amy (the innkeeper) served us a delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

It was our first stay ever at a B&B and when we first drove up we were a little reluctant that we had made the right choice choosing a B&B over a hotel, based on the outside appearance of the Porcupine. It has a very "haunting" look to it! However, once we were greeted at the front door by Meg, and we stepped inside, our whole opinion changed. The inside was very clean and cozy and Meg was very informative as to sites and restaurants to visit. If you are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay after site seeing all day, the Porcupine is the place to staty. Thanks for everything Meg!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5greatkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

It is not the lap of luxury, but that's not why we come to the Adirondacks or Saranac Lake for. The Porcupine Inn was built as a 'cure home' for a TB patient and has a lovely back porch where you can envision patients taking the outdoor 'cure'. It was stifling hot outside but the non-airconditioned home stayed cool and we slept under blankets with only a ceiling fan on low and windows open.

Meg, the owner, was helpful and well meaning, anxious to give a real B+B experience and succeeded with a wonderful breakfast, helpful advice, and nurturing a welcoming atmosphere (the pool table lighting is cool).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
1.4 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
7.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porcupine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Inn

Property: Porcupine Inn
Address: 350 Park Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-5525
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself with Adirondack charm in Saranac Lake's largest, luxury inn overlooking the forest and mountains. This one-of-a-kind historic lodge features 6 fireplaces, an outdoor jacuzzi, a billiard lounge, wine & beer bar, gourmet kitchen ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porcupine Hotel Saranac Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing