We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Saranac Lake(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton(Saranac Lake)(Great Value!)
$256
Curio.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$643
$593
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maple Leaf Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town House Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
$289
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
82
30
6
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
30
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadirondack chairsgazeboownerlakestove
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 124 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed here over the weekend for some biking and hiking. The room was clean and pretty and well appointed, with a little fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. The owner was very nice to us and I believe the price was better than many in the area. The location was super, walk or bike to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CisandJame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We have just returned from another wonderful (but too short) stay at the Sara Placid Motel. This motel is bar far one of the best that we have stayed in and we travel quite a bit. The service is outstanding. Steve is a great host and always aims to please. His rooms are the cleanest around with beautiful beds and decor. Every year that we stay there we find upgrades including Flat Screen TV's and extremely comfortable mattresses. The Sara Placid has a room for everyone from a basic room with amenities such as refrigerators, microwave ovens, and coffee makers to rooms with kitchenettes and fully equiped apartments as well as two beautiful homes to rent on beautiful Lake Flower along with docks if you bring your own boat. We can't say enough good things about the Sara Placid and we highly recommend this motel to anyone traveling to the Saranac Lake/Lake Placid area. The location is wonderful. There is a nice restaurant next door that has great breakfasts and our favorite Mexican restaurant is within a short walk. Lake Placid is just 10 minutes down the road. Do yourself a favor and try the Sara Placid the next time you are in the area. You won't be sorry. Then like me and my husband you will want to tell all your friends what a great place this is to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This is a great value in a pricey little town in an excellent location. The manager/owner was pleasant and helpful. The room was very typical, the bathroom tiny, but it had everything one needed for a night on the road.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CutiePie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This place was our last resort as we did not have any reservations and did not want to stay in Lake Placid as prices were sky high!!!. We took the last two rooms. They were pretty big and it had a kitchenette and a flat screen TV. We had room 10. The place was clean but the walls are thin. All in all, it was across the street from a lake and right smack next door to a great breakfast place. Forgot the name, but will find out. I would recommend this place for its value and cleaniness, I guess I am just spoiled. LOL

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISLANDS722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed here 4 nights in late August. Host Steve was very welcoming and full of helpful info and solicitous of our comfort and sought feedback about our stay and whether there was anything he could/should do to improve. (How often does that happen?!) We had one of 1-bedroom apartments. The sitting room was very comfortable; the kitchen had all appliances in good working order and was stocked with all the pots, pans, cutlery, utensils, dishware you could reasonably need. The bed was incredibly comfortable and pillows were good. Bathroom had plenty of hot water and streaming water pressure. The grounds are attractive with plenty of outdoor seating and offered gas grill for guest use. Saranac Lake is a quiet town but worth ambling through for an afternoon and/or evening. We liked its location as well-positioned to shoot over to the Paul Smiths area for canoe outings, or over to Lake Placid (too touristy for our taste) to get up into the mountains for more strenuous hiking or skiing. Very pleasant stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoutheastHappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews