We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable- Adirondack experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unbelievable- Adirondack experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We love this place. Great cabin (Beech), great beach, great boats. This place has the perfect family beach with sand, fresh lake water, toys for kids and boats sitting there ready for u to grab and go. The management led by Mary is simply unbelievable. They are everywhere, the place is clean they are helping with boats, selling us fishing gear and bait. It is an easy way to experience everything Saranac lake. We will be here every year without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmac014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. Your family holds a special spot in our hearts here at Ampersand Bay and we sincerely look forward to your visit every single year. We are grateful that you took the time to write a review and genuinely look forward to another great week together in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    13
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
45
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family spent a week last month ( JUly, 2013) in a rustic cottge at Ampersand Bay Resort and had a wonderful time. The grounds were beautiful. We had a small private beach pretty much to ourselves with free kayaks and canoes and paddle-boats for the kids. The staff was absolutely wonderful ! They combed our beach every morning , built a fire on the beach every night, brought us ice..pretty much anything you needed, they were there. The cabins were rustic on the outside but much nicer inside. The kids loved the lofts, The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed other than food. The beds were very comfortable. I did love the more pricey, newer cabins that were next to our rustic cottges but for the money, mine was great. We rented motor boat for fishing 3 days and went into Lake PLacid ( 15 minutes away) and to White Face Mountain, about 45 min drive that was breathtaking! We are going back next year to the same cottages !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen3stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My son and I stayed here last week for 5 days and it felt like two weeks! The grounds were beautiful, the fishing was non-stop action and the scenery was beautiful. What made this trip so wonderful was the staff. Everyone there was in tune with making sure every detail was just right. From the moment you send an email or call to book, the folks there could not be more accomodating. We will return here again, I would look no further to find an ideal Adirondack vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobber67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our resort. We loved hosting you and look forward to your next visit with us. It was truly our pleasure. Hopefully your son will catch an even bigger fish the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at Ampersand Bay & Boat Resort with just my husband, and with the whole family during the summers. Either way, it is a place that truly is a luxurious getaway in the Adirondacks without being extremely expensive. We stay in the Birches, which is a three level "log cabin" where the entire third floor is the master bedroom with vaulted ceilings, fan, large bathroom and private rooftop deck that looks out over Lower Saranac Lake. Gorgeous. The main floor is kitchen/lvg rm/dng room/fireplace with outdoor covered deck for dining or relaxinhg, and then the lower level with full bath, two bedrooms, washer/dryer room.

Authentic Adirondack architecture, but with central heat/AC, clean, modern kitchen/bathrooms, jacuzzi tub. So much fun, and a walk away from the lakefront beach and complimentary kayaks, canoes, volleyball, hammocks, bonfire (every night). Every one always has a blast, and our kids meet new friends with every visit. The management is extremely kind and personable, taking care of your every request as well as they can.

Absolutely beautiful setting with sounds of loons, sightings of bald eagles, ample fishing, and all of the water sports. A must-stay resort if you love the Adirondacks and the outdoors.

Room Tip: "Fitness center" there is not, except for canoeing, kayaking, water skiing, mountain bikin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Sincere thanks for your kind words! We are grateful to work in such a lovely place with such great guests. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

After 20 plus years of driving from near Rochester NY to Saranac Lake for the closing fireworks of the Winter Carnival and returning home the same night we decided to make a weekend of it. With my wife, two daughters, and their boyfriends I looked for a place that would accommodate all of us.I learned that Ampersand Bay would be open during the Carnival. Having seen the resort from the water in the past I decided to see if there was any availability. I was delighted to find that there was and booked two nights. I told my wife that we had to stay at a small motel and that we might need to share one room for all of us. When we arrived at Saranac I told my wife that we should drive by the Ampersand Bay Resort to see what it was like from land. We drove thru the property and I told her I was going to check at the office for more information. It was after normal hours and I told my wife that I called the contact number and someone was coming to give us a quick tour. When we were met by Trish, one of the managers, my wife overheard her say she was going to turn up the heat. At this point my wife caught on and said "are we staying here?" with much delight.

Delight it was! From the welcome and treatment we were given by both Mary and Trish, the clean and spacious accommodations in the Heron Boat House Suits, and the convenience of having sleeping cooking and entertainment all in one facility there was nothing more to desire.
Neil, who owns the property, was visiting that weekend and we found him to be interested in our experience there and very open and approachable. He truly understands the Hospitality Business

The value cant be beat. There is plenty of room for three couples with three bath rooms and bedrooms. Add the value of being able to cook as many meals as you want and there is no place else that is so affordable. Being a rental also saves you from paying sales tax. The value is there even if only one couple occupies the suite. Remember too that we stayed in the winter. Summer offers even more opportunities to enjoy the property

We plan on spending the closing Winter Carnival Weekend there for years to come and hopefully find time during our busy summer season to relax there.

Thanks again to Trish, Mary, and Neil
You guys are the best!

Alex Tahou, Jeanette, Nicole, Jacqueline, Josh, and Damien
( I promise I wont set off the smoke alarms again)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicktahouhots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are thrilled that you had such a lovely experience! We enjoyed meeting you and are looking forward to seeing you again next Winter Carnival. We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share these kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Ampersand Bay Resort over Easter weekend. What can I say, this place was amazing. The property was spacious, big, and beautiful. The unique details throughout the property really gave it a rustic feel. That is just the outside, when you walk into your cottage you will be amazed. Our cottage had three bedrooms, a full kitchen, dining room, master bedroom with a spa jacuzzi, two balconies to view the great scenery, and a wonderful living room with a fireplace and a flat screen television. The best part was the wonderful and gracious hospitality of the Ampersand Bay Resort staff. Mary you rock. Anything you need, the staff makes sure you will receive. To end, if you are looking for an awesome place to get away, view some great scenery, go do some shopping and feel like you are at your home away from home, stay at the Ampersand Bay. See you soon and thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErrinN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Manager at Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for your kind words about our resort. As you know, we strive to have every visitor have the same experience that you have had! We truly appreciate you taking time out of your busy life to share your review. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parishville, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Ampersand Bay Resort on Feb 28th thru Mar 2. We stayed in the Maple cabin and it was excellent. The cabin was much more spacious than I imagined. It was nice to be able to sit on the couch next to the fireplace on a cold winter night. I would highly recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a winter getaway or better yet...a stay during the heart of the summer when you could experience more of what the Ampersand Bay Resort and Boat Club has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 8 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
8.8 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
8.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club

Property: Ampersand Bay Resort & Boat Club
Address: 31 Bayside Dr, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-1576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ampersand Bay Resort is a cluster of vacation rentals spread over 28 acres on the shores of Lower Saranac Lake in the heart of the Adirondack Mountains of New York. We strive to provide our guests the privacy and family oriented nature of a vacation rental with many of the added amenities of a resort. All of our rentals units have full kitchens, necessary cooking utensils and appliances, BBQ grills, linens, dining rooms, living rooms and multiple bedrooms. We offer an evening campfire, marina with bait shop and gas station, free canoes, kayaks and stand up paddle boards, beach volleyball and other beach games for all of our guests. If you'd like to bring a boat, you can launch it here on our property and keep it in one of our slips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ampersand Bay And Boat Club Hotel Saranac Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing