We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
98
4
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
4
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black tie the main lodge course dinner other guests boat house moment you arrive once in a lifetime bygone era roaring fire truffle fries communal meals interesting people other resorts boxed lunch camp david beyond compare full tank of gas
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 105 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2016

Wow! A perfect weekend in the Adirondacks. Our third visit to The Point, and it exceeded our high expectations. A Winter Wonderland of Christmas decorations and haute cuisine in a "Rockefeller Rustic" environment. About as good as it gets in this world. An incredibly welcoming cohesive staff who cater to your every request (and some you haven't thought of), who obviously get along with each other, and make every effort to make you enjoy your stay in this beautiful Relais & Chateaux property. Only 10 rooms, so at most, you will be there with 18 other guests, or sometimes you get lucky, and you live like The Rockefellers....dream on! We loved our room...every room decorated with a tree and its own theme, unlimited firewood for the real fireplace...as romantic as it gets. The Chefs are awesome. We have been involved for many years in La Chaine des Rotisseurs, and are self-confessed foodies. This weekend was like a string of Chain dinners. Chef Loic, and Sous Chef Anthony were top shelf! Three great lunches; one starring confit of duck; another a great Frenched chicken breast, the third wild striped bass as features. Breakfast in the Great Hall, or in your room....awesome house made Southern biscuits and sausage gravy...you would think you were Down South (grits too!). And the dinners....wow! The first night, we dined, after cocktails of course, at the Chef's Table in the Kitchen with Loic and Anthony preparing our meal right there. Great guys who play off each other; creative, solid, friendly, and on their game. Top shelf! We started with breads and butters. A cheddar white pappy challah made by Anthony which may be the best bread we have ever eaten....now that's saying something, eh? Vermont Creamery butte, Basil butter, and an incredible Saffron butter (more please!). Then Kabocha Squash Agnolotti with shaved truffle; pan seared John Dory with artichoke, salsify and kalamata crumbles; then grilled Painted Hills Fram beef tenderloin with hen of the woods mushrooms and confit baby turnips (the beef was as tasty and tender as any Kobe), and finished with an olive oil cake with frozen yogurt and chopped hibiscus fuzzy rocks. All paired with Williams Selyem Unoaked Chardonnay and Chateau de Sales Pomerol 2011. An incredible meal with an ongoing conversation with the chefs and servers. As good as it gets. Much is said about The Point being a "camp" experience. True, you can mix with the other guests, but you can also choose to "do your own thing" like dining at the Chef's Table (up to four guests per night); have breakfast, lunch or dinner in your own "room" (quite the understatement), or even have your own table set for lunch beside one of the two large fireplaces in the Great Hall. In other words, you can pick your spots, and reach your own level of interaction. Our Saturday night dinner, formal night, regardless of how many guests there are (it's nice to get really dressed up, especially just for you and your darling!), was another 7 course terrific meal by Loic and Anthony....Besserat de Bellefon champagne; Black Truffle Cappuccino (WOW!); curry roasted cauliflower with cashew dressing; butter poaches Maine lobster with cranberry, puffed wild rice and vanilla beurre blanc with Peter Michael "La Carriere" Chardonnay, Fresh Pear Eau de Vie Sorbet; root beer braised buffalo short rib with blue grits and crosse germinate served with Domain Magni Chat du Paps 2014; Mont Blanc; Maculan "Torcolato", a local cheese selection, and Porto! These Chefs are on their game, and are happy to share their culinary knowledge with you. The servers are totally immersed in what they are doing, and eager to talk about it. What a great synergy! I would like to mention all of their names, but I'm afraid to miss someone. Manager Cameron Kroger has put a great staff together here, and his personal involvement is obvious. Of course, The Point is not all about wine and food; though it is hard to forget with all the great meals, and the availability of top shelf spirits of all kinds spread through the readily available bars, highlighted by The Pub, where you can choose your spirt at the well-stocked bar complete with pool table, high end wooden puzzles from Stith, darts, or an old fashioned vinyl player. A very nice place to spend some afternoon or after-dinner time. The Adirondack scenery is, of course, everywhere. Plenty of places to walk, or engage in winter/summer sports. We like to drive into Lake Placid, about a half hour drive mostly through the woods and lakes, to do a little village shopping. The Point is one of those ultimate "high end" weekend experiences. If you enjoy wine and food, the Adirondacks, and being treated "like a Rockefeller", well it's time you tried it....perhaps we'll see you there at "camp". Once you pay for the room, it's all inclusive. The Point is a truly special place. Romance personified. A warm thank you to the entire staff at The Point.....you are what makes it special!

Room Tip: Their website describes them well.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Conseiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016

My Husband and I had such a wonderfully romantic stay at The Point! The service is impeccable, the rooms are so beautiful and the wood burning fireplace is a must, nothing worse than a boring gas fireplace without that pleasing aroma and crackling sounds. The chef is very accommodating to dietary needs and our dinner was exceptional! The Hacker Craft ride was fabulous! We love it here!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mdbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016

This lodge is spectacular!!! My family visited here a year ago as a retreat to just relax and unwind. We found it to be the perfect place for that, idyllic in its location and just as iconic in its style!

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BerniceH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016

This is one of the most special places I've ever stayed The setting is magical as is everything about this property! Once you pay the high price tag there is nothing missing The staff is friendly, attentive and totally accommodating Say the word and it is done!The accommodations are wonderful as is the food We spent a weekend there and would return in a heartbeat If you love being on the water, hiking, and just overall relaxing this place is it!

Room Tip: There is no bad room....only 11 rooms...some are in the main building and the rest are in out buildings
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank didisacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

The Point is more than a singular resort, it is a singular experience. I've certainly never been anywhere quite like it, and have never heard of anyplace even remotely similar. It is the closest thing you can get to having guilt-free access to a billionaire's private home, bar, provisions and staff for as long as you care to pay the freight.

You can get the history and basic details off the website, so I won't bother with the background. What is nearly impossible to find is any description of what it is like to stay there. The Point actively discourages press, and flat out prohibits looky-loo gawkers, so the only chance you will ever have to see the place is to bite the bullet and make a reservation.

And if you can afford it, you definitely should.

Of the eight other couples we met over our four night stay, seven were returners, and the other was a legacy (one set of parents had been). One was reliving a fond memory from 15 years prior, but the other six couples had been coming to the Point, year in and year out, in various seasons, for *at least 16 years*. Some from as far away as California, Texas, and Oklahoma. The last crew was so happy to be back it positively radiated off of them throughout dinner.

What keeps them returning? Well, the rooms are rustic luxe, ranging from the smaller rooms in the main lodge, to the cavernous rooms in the guest house and pub, to the stunning boathouse (we were able to see most of them, and would be happy in any of them). We reserved Algonquin and were upgraded to Evensong, primarily, I think, to spread the 4 couples around the property rather than have us right next to the couple in Mohawk. The food, and drink, is the rival of any three star restaurant, three meals a day, every freaking day. There is a menu for breakfast, but it is just filled with suggestions (prefer to start out with a lobster roll? No problem).

Dinners are 5 courses with beautiful wine pairings (Leflaive, Hobbs, etc - no duds) and white glove service (literally - white gloves). Wednesdays and Saturdays are black tie, seven course menus. Chilled Pol Roger in every bar (there are four fully-stocked bars, open 24/7 self service). Don't like that? Prefer Rose? Just ask. Want a bottle in your room every evening at 5? No problem. Whatever you want, whenever you want it, and wherever you prefer.

Lunches deserve special mention. You can eat in the lodge and have a three course formal meal with a lovely wine, or have your choice of food (pizza, fish, sandwich, seriously, let your mind go...) served in your room, on the dock, at the lean-to, in the hideaway cabin in the woods, sealed in Tupperware and placed in a backpack for a hike or a paddle, or, hey, how about on that tiny island in the middle of the lake - with a table and chairs? Well, why not! And that happened every day we were there. Honestly, the choices are so plentiful that it is common to freeze up when asked what you would like to do.

And if you aren't stuffed by the regular meals, the kitchen is open 24/7, what's your pleasure? Steak? Truffled popcorn? Fried Chicken? Cheese Plate? You are also welcomed, even encouraged, to wander into the kitchen yourself.

And if you are looking to do something other than eat and drink, you have a similar embarrassment of choices, in all four seasons, and the key is that you can count on absolutely top shelf equipment for all. In summer you can swim, hike, play tennis, take a tour of the lake on a $250k mahogany HackerCraft, ski or tube behind a brand new Nautique, paddle a canoe, take out an electric wooden skiff, or a simple outboard, fish, SUP, kayak, play horseshoes, croquet, shoot archery, and on and on. If it rains there is a collection of exquisite Stave jigsaw puzzles which are ridiculously fun and challenging (want one in your room? just ask), darts or pool in the pub. In winter there is a toboggan run, curling, skiing, skating, snowshoeing. You get the picture, I assume. If you are ill-equipped, just ask - there is, for instance, a full complement of loaner hiking boots, there's fresh tennis balls at the court. And if they know you are there, there will be chilled water and a snack waiting for you. Remember, there are 11 rooms, and they are almost never fully booked. That means that you are working around, at most, six other couples when trying to do anything.

But wait, there's more. Don't plan to leave early on your last day, which will feature a private breakfast on a glassed-in boat on the lake, and a box lunch to send you on your way. Oh, and a full tank of gas.

I mean, the whole thing is absurd, really. I could go on - a custom-vintage Heitz Cab in every room, Keihls amenities, a gift from a local artisan every night bedside. Absurd, just totally absurd.

And here is where it gets truly weird. When you add it all up, it represents value, real honest-to-goodness value, at the luxury price point. Add up a night out in the city, followed by room service breakfast and a nice lunch, throw in a tour or activity, and you are fast approaching a night at the Point, and it won't be half as fun (I know, we did exactly that just before arriving). Add in the intangible value of being able to lock away your wallet for the duration of your stay - there is no tipping and no incidentals - and you can truly breathe free in that Adirondack air.

The staff is there to make sure you are enjoying yourself, getting what you need, and providing social lubricant at mealtimes. Which brings us to the few things the Point can't control. First, the other guests. Yes, you will be mingling during cocktail hour and then dinners, which are served at giant round tables. Judging from our limited experience, the clientele skews towards 50-something or older empty nesters, or couples with only dogs to worry about (dogs are welcome, kids are not). Everyone we met was polite, enthusiastic about the Point, friendly, and fun. Meeting the other guests and getting to know them was, without a doubt, one of the great pleasures and privileges of a stay at the Point. You'd think that the formal service and black tie dinners would feel stuffy, but the operative feeling is a fun dinner party. People tend to share more with strangers, and your old warhorse stories and threadbare jokes are fresh here. so everyone is a better dining companion.

Second, the environment. Be aware that it might rain. Be aware that it might be buggy. The biting flies were out when we were there. The staff will do what they can for you (they even set off a bug bomb in the remote cabin for another couple in advance of a lunch date), but there are some things out of their hands.

Needless to say I can see why the Point has been ranked in the resort stratosphere. With kids and college to save for, we may not be able to swing it every year, but we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: They are all great
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank screwjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews