We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Anniversary Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We loved our stay at The Caldwell House. Gene and Carmela are wonderful hosts. Carmela's breakfasts were absolutely delicious (she also made the best chocolate chip cookies I've ever eaten). Gene was extremely helpful in recommending activities and restaurants in the area. We spent 3 nights in the Trestle room which was small but clean and quaint. My only criticism was the noisy air-conditioner in the window. Aside from that, we had a delightful time.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank HaiNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 467 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

This was a wonderful bed and breakfast experience. Our hosts, Gene and Carmella were accommodating and the house was beautiful. The food at breakfast was excellent and the company friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0ungTraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

My wife and I were very pleased with our gracious hosts, Gene and Carmella. The acccomodations in this over 200 year New England home were just fine. Breakfast was a delight to look forward to each morning during our 3 night stay. Gene and Carmella were pleasant to visit with and quite informative as to what to see and do in the area. Gene even provided directions for an early morning walk in a nearby NY State Park. We certainly made the right choice by staying at the Caldwell House.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyesIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

What a wonderful way to spend an evening in Salisbury Mills. Carmela and Gene were the most wonderful and attentive hosts. Beyond the rich history of the Caldwell House, was an opportunity to get to know our hosts better and to share family histories and a few favorite recipes. The cookbook is a must have......particularly after enjoying fresh blueberry cobbler, French toast and warm apricot scones. We entered the Caldwell House as strangers and left having met and made two wonderful friends.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobileunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Very relaxing beautifully run bed & breakfast, delicious breakfast and wonderful hosts

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CplLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

My husband and I had a fantastic 2 day get-away. We found the Caldwell house on the internet and were so relieved because it was beyond great. Clean, comfortable and fabulous over the top breakfast. We have stayed at other B&Bs and hotels found on line and been disappointed or deceived by good photos. We loved the Storm King Sculpture park just aroung the corner, and Orange County Chopper!!! And met a wonderful couple (other guests) who were also giving themselves a time-out treat. Congrats to Carmela and Gene for running a fantastic establishment!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mom-moi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Traveled to West Point for the Air Force/Army football game and needed a place to stay post game for 1 night. The wife researched and found the Caldwell Bed and Breakfast, made the call and soon had reservations. The fall colors were in full bloom, and the short ride from West Point to Salisbury Mills was beautiful and scenic. The house was easy to find, and Carmella happily greeted us at the door. This 200 year plus home is immaculate and very quiet. There were 3 other nice couples there, but did not know that until the next morning. There were home made cookies, snacks and drinks available for the munchies, and a grand homemade breakfast the next morning consisting of poached pears, homemade muffins and awesome homemade French toast. Fresh cider and bottomless coffee made for an extremely satisfying start to the day. Gene and Carmella are gracious hosts. They greeted us by name and are extremely knowledgeable of the history of not only their home, but the surrounding area. A real treat and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rock615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salisbury Mills
9.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,042 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
4.1 mi away
Cromwell Manor Historic Inn
22 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577-5413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Salisbury Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury Mills
Price Range: $205 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning historic Select Registry and Diamond Collection Inn located in the heart of the lower Hudson Valley on eight landscaped acres with 14 individually controlled HVAC guest rooms with private baths, DirecTV/HDTV/Netflix/Hulu+. Ten rooms have fireplaces, 6 have in-room jacuzzi tubs, and 2 with large soaking tubs. Near Storm King Art Center, Bear Mountain, Brotherhood Winery the USMA at West Point and the Shawangunk Wine Trail, Hyde Park, and Woodbury Common Premium Outlets. Hiking, biking and lots of great outdoor activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing