We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 3, 2012

John and Dena are very welcoming hosts who add little touches to make guests feel comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious, and the owners steered us to excellent restaurants. We particularly enjoy staying in historic houses. We enjoyed visiting the nearby Storm King Art Center, a 500 acre, well-organized outdoor sculpture park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planner51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come see us again soon!!

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 458 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

John and Dena are fantastic hosts and promptly attended to our various needs. We stayed for my sister's bachelorette party. They set up wine tastings with a limo to take us to 4 of the best local wineries and set up a spa day at the local salon. They have fantastic recommendations for local restaurants as well. The rooms were spotless and charming. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway in a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afluck09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for having the Bachelorette Party with us. We are so glad you had a great time. Lets make it an annual event!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Caldwell House was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in. From the moment we arrived Dena and John were warm, welcoming made us feel like guests in their home. The room was extremely well appointed and contained all amenities for our comfort and convenience. Beds were very comfortable and afforded us two great nights sleep. Breakfast was a wonderful treat that began with personalized menues and continued with delicious well prepared food and friendly service. Overall 5 stars from us. Richard& Linda

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thanks so much. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. Please come again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This past weekend, my husband and I celebrated our third year anniversary at the Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast in Salisbury, NY. It was the first time that either of us had ever been to a bed and breakfast, yet it was an experience that we will never forget. It is a striking historic home. Besides the fact that the innkeepers, Mama & Papa Finn, are some of the friendliest people that one could ever meet, the house and rooms were immaculate. Breakfast was PHENOMENAL…so much so that I had to stuff my purse with recipes! :) During our weekend stay, we visited West Point, Brotherhood Winery, and the Premium Outlets…which all very close points of interest. There was a full house. Being the last to leave, I was amazed to see that ALL of the other friendly guests were just as pleased as we were. Each guest left with a smile, offering extra praise. Whether or not you have been to a bed and breakfast on a previous occasion, visiting the Caldwell House is a MUST! It truly deserves each of the FIVE stars granted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Wow!! Can we hire you to be our publicist??!! We're so glad that we could play a part in your special anniversary weekend.
Please come see us again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a terrific stay for our wedding anniversary. John and Dena are wonderful innkeepers who meet all your needs in style. We loved our room, the delicious breakfast and the warm hospitality! We would definitely recommend The Caldwell House.

Room Tip: We loved our room because it had a king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thanks so much. Your remarks are beyond kind!!
Dena and I hope you'll be back for many more anniversaries (and birthdays, etc!!)
All the best to you and your family,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay - John and Dena are so warm and welcoming - the perfect hosts! They met all of our needs - questions about where to go, directions, places to eat, shop, etc.
We really enjoyed our stay!

Marilyn & Neal Goldstein

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank marilyngoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you so much! We so enjoyed having you stay with us. Please come again soon!

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you want the friendliest innkeepers known to man - this is the place for you. Dena and John are the perfect hosts. The house was roomy, clean and comfortable. If you're planning a trip to the Hudson Valley, consider the Caldwell House. You won't be sorry

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thanks!!! It was such a pleasure to have you at our B&B. We hope you will be back again soon!

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salisbury Mills
9.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,022 reviews
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
9.3 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
793 reviews
18.4 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
4.1 mi away
Cromwell Manor Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577-5413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Salisbury Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury Mills
Price Range: $177 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning historic Select Registry and Diamond Collection Inn located in the heart of the lower Hudson Valley on eight landscaped acres with 14 individually controlled HVAC guest rooms with private baths, DirecTV/HDTV/Netflix/Hulu+. Ten rooms have fireplaces, 6 have in-room jacuzzi tubs, and 2 with large soaking tubs. Near Storm King Art Center, Bear Mountain, Brotherhood Winery and the Shawangunk Wine Trail, West Point, Hyde Park, and Woodbury Common Premium Outlets. Hiking, biking and lots of great outdoor activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing