We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big City Hotel Wannabe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Big City Hotel Wannabe”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you like free breakfast, free Internet, easy and close parking, easy check in, reasonable priced restaurants, in a hotel close to other restaurants and attractions, you may want to go somewhere else. At the northern tip of Allegheny State Park, in Southeastern New York, this casino is using pricing to try to pretend to be a tier one city destination.

The housekeeping staff is well trained in a insincere regard for your well-being by reciting the greetings they were taught, while the rest of the staff offers down home advice and helpful suggestions with a comforting casual politeness.

Self-parking is erroneously depicted by the bell staff as difficult and confusing so that the valet guys can make you feel special and sophisticated. Park in the ramp; it's a little inconvenient, but easier than it looks.

The rooms are spacious, well-appointed, quiet, and comfortable. The building is new, clean, and well kept. The grounds and surrounding area are beautifully nestled in the valley near the park. Across the street is a cool old railroad town worth visiting.

All-in-all, pretentious and a bit pricey overall, but pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EventGuyChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    170
    69
    29
    22
See reviews for
104
340
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived after 9 PM and were greeted by the Valet at the door. We were presented with a couple of parking options which were all free. We would have done the Valet Parking but we wanted full access to the vehicle as we were touring the area during our stay.

The reason I say this Hotel was "Almost Perfect" is as we entered into the front lobby to check in, we were hit with very strong cigarette smoke smell. We find that quite offensive. Sadly, one of the few locations where Smokers still have the upper hand. Amazingly enough we did not notice the smell in our room which was equipped with Ash Trays...gross!

Throughout the building there is small Non-Smoking areas which was a nice touch for those of us who don't smoke, and don't appreciate having to participate in some elses slow suicide!

All this said about smoking, I must admit the Hotel and Casino were extremely clean, well lit, with friendly staff and the free parking was very convenient. We picked this location as it was close to Ellicottville where most of our activities were booked. We had also planned to to tour the Allegany State Park for which the hotel sits right on the north edge.

The dining options are very limited, but to be expected when you are the only game for miles around. We had difficulty getting a meal with our dietary restrictions. The higher end restaurant was closed, leaving us with the Cafe or Buffet. We could not get an accurate ingredents listing for the buffet so we choose the Cafe. Unfortunately the Cafe was not much better. The Servers were not equipped to deal with our specific needs, leaving us to coach them through it. After about 45 minutes we were able to get some lettuce and lemon wedges for a salad, dry steak and frozen steamed vegetables. Others without our restrictions looked like they were enjoying their meals. The hotel is expanding I hope they plan on more restaurant choices, with better training for their servers.

Our room was terrific. I believe we had the best room in the hotel. We were on the opposite side of the hotel from the new addition that was being constructed, therefore cutting down on the construction noise. We were on the top floor at the far end of the hall, so no elevator noise or people coming past our room. The room itself was extremely spacious. It had a beautiful wardrobe with space for all our clothes. It had a safe which was very easy to use. The room had a large desk, fridge, and lots of lighting options. Most of the large surfaces in the room were natural stone and very beautiful. The bathroom was spotless and high-end. The bathroom included a separate toilet room, a very large walk-in shower and a large vanity that two people could use at the same time. Just outside the bathroom is a large vanity with surround mirrors, a nice stool and a lighted make-up mirror. The room also had a nice table and with two chairs. The only thing missing from the room was a nice comfy chair.

The rate for this room was very reasonable and I would recommend this location to anyone wanting a nice get-away. The location is great for anyone with activities in the Ellicottville area.

Being a Casino destination it cuts down on the children who are on site too. Get couples location.

If you like to have evening activities the onsite Casino is a nice option.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Beware of the construction on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparky-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Well first off I must say the rooms are very nice and well kept but pillows could use updating. Every staff member we encountered we're very nice and friendly with the exception of the front desk. No smiles during checkin and the two women acted like they hated their job...one being a Supervisor! Then we were informed that the room we booked was not available. There wasn't an I'm sorry or regret to inform you...just a cold "delivery". This was our first time staying overnight and I was abruptly notified of their policy that "room types are not guaranteed"! I quickly learned why when I called and spoke to a reservationist that if you book a room online and lets say only doubles are left...you can arrive early and upgrade with no questions asked. They simple bump people like us who booked months in advance to a lesser room. Very disappointing to say the least and the fact that they implement this policy purely on the basis of first come first serve is ridiculous! My question is why even give a choice as to what room you can reserve or have a check in time??? Lastly, buffet was good but the food from room service was terrible. Fruit (grapes) was rotted, wings under cooked, and I've had better pizza from a grocers freezer. I find it hard to believe that someone didn't notice the grapes when they put them in the plate. The sad thing is we didn't until we ate a handful as they were hidden underneath...yuck!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Noelle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed Thur. Aug.09/12 overnight on the 10th floor , very clean well kept room, staff at desk check in & all folks working there that we met were helpfull and friendly. Floor staff in the Casino, guys and gals in the Buffet and even the people working around the machines cleaning up after the few not so carefull visitors , all would say hi , how you doing, and seemed to really care, nice change from some places where the staff are just collecting pay and doing their hours.

We lined up for the Meet and Greet to see Nascar Rusty Wallace and get an autograph, the event staff had a good handle on the fans that were waiting for the glimse of this 55 Race Winner and 1989 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Champion. Rusty would greet each fan with a handshake and they would leave with an autographed picture.

Desk staff at checkout made sure the stay was problem free, and invited each guest back, This was a Comp visit but our stay was very much enjoyed . We will return again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the front end facing the Casino roof , no highway noise or noise in the hallways or anyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fletch_Theman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

You can't beat this Casino Resort for comfort and service. Denise is a great Host and will do whatever she can to accomodate your needs.

I do have 3 wishes though that I feel would enhance the place;

1) remove ashtrays by the elevators on non-smoking floors so that smokers are not tempted to smoke. (trust me - they do and as a result non-smoking floors get the same stinch as smoking floors)

2) enlarge the no-smoking area and add no-smoking table area

3) in my opinion the best marketing a casino can do is to loosen the slots or increase table game odds. eliminate the generous free play comps and other marketing events and free gifts and put that money into making the slots a higher payout %. There is nothing slot players want more (other than to win a jackpot) than to be able to play on a slot machine for periods of time without feeling like were pouring money down the toilet. Let us play and let our money last longer before you take it - do that and your hotel and casino will be filled to capacity year round.

Free play is great and does entice you there but rarely do I win on my free play so you get discouraged.

Room Tip: stay away from construction side if at all possible
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank LVPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

First off, little coloured indicator tags, placed between the parking lot elevators, are a clever take away reminder of where you have parked. It's so easy to forget, when all the floors of parking look so similar. Unlike getting off an elevator in Casino Niagara, the first thing you'll notice is the air quality. Barely, if any notice that the facility is a smoking one. Same goes for the gaming floor. Exceptional air quality, even in the smoking areas. Though, I have often wondered when designing a casino being considerate of non-smokers, why people who are non-smokers are forced to traipse through the smoking section to get the NON-smoking section found in the centre of the casino. Beyond the exceptional staff, certain nuisances present at Casino Niagara, like always having to fish out, and present you hotel room key, when getting on an elevator, have been eliminated. The rooms, beyond the odd dust bunny, are virtually spotless, and very well maintained. Towels are real Egyptian cotton, and you're likely not to find better quality anywhere else. Same goes with the linen. Nothing beats real Egyptian cotton, even as a a blend. The sheets and pillow cases are exceptional! Though the pillows are a little on the small side, and some large king size pillows would be nice. The main restaurant, The Seneca Café offers fast, fresh and quality food, FAST- being the main things that impresses. Unlike it's Sister property, Casino Niagara's Three Sisters restaurant, this one can actually delivery the correctly prepared food in a timely manner- better than 99% of the time! If only Casino Niagara could deliver a steak cooked to medium, in just less than almost an hour, and get it right half the time! Over the years Seneca Allegany has been consistent in delivering quality, while maintaining that quality. You may notice the odd person missing behind a counter, staff cuts are at times noticeable. However, as long as the remaining person is able to delivery the service you're asking for, in a timely, and professional manner, does it matter if it's being done with fewer staff?
Little niceties- like ice cold water on a silver tray at the coat check. (boxes of matches, kleenex, just simple things on a closed coat check counter do make a positive impression. Handicapped accessible washrooms are immediately adjacent to check-in, unlike Casino Niagara where they are oh so very distant down a huge corridor! One negative, is that the casino lacks a business centre, and the publicly accessible computer is on a high counter, with a keyboard on a ledge below. Not comfortable at the best of times. And, if you need to print anything, you have to call for one of the front desk staff to retrieve what you have printed from below the non-public side of the counter. A bit of a hassle. Hopefully, this is something that will be resolved with the addition of the new space available in the currently being built addition to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starbuckscard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I visit about once a month, staying in their beautiful hotel rooms when we can, since it is a bit of a drive for us from Ohio. We only play the slots, which usually let you play a while, though seldom let you leave with more than you came with. Breaking even, for us, is a good thing.
The buffet is almost worth the drive by itself.
We have rarely seen the place so busy that you can't play your favorite machine, and even though most of the floor space is in the smoking section, it isn't overpowering with smoke smell, and they do have a non smoking section.
Parking is available in their garage, or in a large open lot. We haven't had the pleasure of going when they are having an event/entertainment, but based on the crowds when they do, they must be pretty good.
Though it takes some play to get a point on your players card, you want to make sure you sign up for one and use it. The perks are worth it. A free hotel room really makes it easier for us to make the trip, and allows us a little more slot money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salamanca
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
9.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
8.8 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
12.4 mi away
The New Lantern Motel
The New Lantern Motel
#1 of 2 in Allegany
44 reviews
14.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino

Property: Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Address: 777 Seneca Allegany Blvd, Salamanca, NY 14779-1377
Location: United States > New York > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino is home to one of the most impressive hotels in Western New York, awarded AAA Four Diamond certification for every year since 2005. On 11 levels of pure luxury, each of our 413 rooms and suites feature upscale amenities, including pillow-top beds, oversized showers, flat-screen TVs, Internet access and more. Make a splash in our relaxing indoor pool, unwind as you soak in our steamy whirlpool, or get your heart pumping in our state-of-the-art workout facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seneca Allegany Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing