We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“average buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thunder Mountain Buffet

Thunder Mountain Buffet
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Salamanca
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“average buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Though the buffet is very reasonably priced, it was an average buffet the days we were there. I have seen times when they offered better selections and we were a bit disappointed to have the same offerings days in a row. No pasta or pasta dishes other than seafood pasta. No way I could overeat at least.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JKHarleytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    33
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville, va
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed both the variety and quality of the foods. Our server was professional without hovering over us (that's an art!)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In the Country, NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not for Us!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We've tried it 2 different times in the last month, and I won't go back. Living in the area and events happening we find ourselves here. The rooms at the Seneca Allegany are terrific, but the food at the buffet is bad.
Fresh fruit was non existent, and veggies consisted of lettuce, tomatoes, celery and cucumbers. The rest was a hodge podge of leftover macaroni/pasta/ potato mixtures with very bland taste. Soups were both puréed and not presented we'll at all.
Main course meat-prime rib and turkey were very dry, instant mash potatoes, stuffing, gravy, instant. We didn't do the roasted chicken, because we were thirsty from the beef and turkey. Shrimp were plentiful, but tasteless. My husband said the pizza was good.
Desserts were good, but not great.
The service was excellent, and the dinning area was clean and welcoming.
It will take a lot to get me back into this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank djad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the better buffets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Liked the selections and everything that I had tasted good. $17 for a dinner is not too bad to pay when you get the choices and as much as you want. Play for a while and get comps to use and you'll pay less. The website lists the menu items and most of what they stated they had.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RamblingJoe51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“food DRY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

we tried all the meat and all 3 were dry.....this used to be a buffet we would drive 220 miles to enjoy...to much cost cutting

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank thebobber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunder Mountain Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Thunder Mountain Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing