We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge park with nice trails and lake”

Allegany State Park
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest state park in New York that offers hiking trails and camping.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Huge park with nice trails and lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We did 2 short hikes and saw a mother black bear and her 2 babies on the 2nd one. We also swam in the lake, which had a beach and lifeguards.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    34
    11
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Depew, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Trailriders Dream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great State Park for horseback riding....Primitive camping with your horse trailer at the camp 10 meadow trail head. All types of terrain..Enjoyable for beginner to advanced Equestrians !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing maintenance of cabins, and not much there that we wouldn't find in our back yard.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the park from June 29 through July 5. We rented a cabin in the Buffalo loop on the Quaker Lake side where 2 of the 4 metal bunks were broken. My bed's springs were missing in 3 places, and one of the 3 inch foam mattresses had a broken zipper. Duct tape repaired 2 torn screens and a bench, and ceiling paint was peeling. Most egregious was the single bathroom stall in the men's bathroom, meant to be used by 12 cabins. They did have a full size fridge and gas stove, and we stayed dry during several rainy days. Someone went onto our porch while we were gone and stole our firewood, so lock up. Museum was interesting, and they had several activities including music and fireworks on the 3rd. Kinzua bridge and Zippo museum also interesting, but Salamanca is kind of a sad town centered on gambling, and there's not much else around. In the park we saw a mama bear with 2 cubs and lots of deer. It was too wet to hike the trails, so we can't review them. Many places to drop your fishing line, and the beach was pretty nice. It had abundant grass, clean sand, and concessions. Overall, would not revisit this park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Conni_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Omg views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is gorgeous.The view will amaze you. I would recommend the bug spray though. I cant wait to go back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FARMINGTON HILLS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice for beautiful sights, hiking, and getting away from the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed a week at the Cain Hollow (aka Quaker Area) camp ground in a pop-up camper.

You're truly out away from internet and cell service when at the camp grounds. Heading to Quaker Lake beach does have some limited service in case of emergency. First and foremost bring a camera because there are plenty of beautiful sights here. We hiked Bear Caves (saw no bears but more interested in the big rock caves) and the Firetower #1 by Quaker Lake which is quite challenging. That hike is about 600 feet of vertical climb in just under 1 mile of hiking, then it levels off for the most part.

The roads in the park are winding and hilly and also quite beautiful if you don't want to hike. You can get to Thunder Rocks via a gravel road and you are right there in front of them. There are also plenty of streams running along and passing under the roads.

We found ourselves going quite often to down town Salamanca for groceries. They have a few attractions over that way too like the casino, the rail road museum, and the Seneca Indian museum. I found the nearby Zippo lighter museum in Bradford, PA more in depth and interesting that I imagined. We got a nice deal on a Zippo I really liked and got it engraved, I'm not a smoker but I'll have this to remember our trip forever. Great American product!

There is a relatively flat bike trail around Red House Lake and is approximately 5 miles. If you're looking for a relaxing ride on a paved path and not much work hill climbing this is a good trail. Otherwise other places will be quite challenging.

We went over 4th of July week and were surprised the park's camping area for tents and trailers (Cain Hollow) was not at capacity. I would say it was about 75% full. Weather was 80 for highs and 60's for lows, with chances of scattered storms each day but it stayed sunny to partly cloudy most of the time. Bathrooms at the camp site were modern flush style and moderately clean. We had no issues with any park rangers in fact we saw none, only the bathroom cleaning crews. They have the best idea for a fire ring here... just a ring of rocks about 4-6" tall. We come from Michigan where the rings are poured concrete about 1.5 feet tall and you can't feel any heat off those things unless you're standing over the fire!!

We checked out some of Red House's camp grounds... if you want more seclusion and privacy stick with Quaker Lake / Cain Hollow. Red House has more nearby activities like paddle boats and mini-golf but from either camp you can reach the other in about a 15 minute drive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JOHN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allegany State Park also viewed

 

Been to Allegany State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing