We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vibe, but long wait...”

Dockside Bar & Grill
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Sag Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice vibe, but long wait...”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was a fun place to have lunch with a great view of the boats docked in the marina across the street. But the "15-minute wait" stretched to 50 minutes. Had we been told the accurate wait time, we would have moved on to another restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelpro56V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    69
    14
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for what it is, with one caveat...”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The first thing I must say is that with the exception of the fries, everything I've ever had here has been really good. The staff on the other hand, is just OK. You get this feeling that they don't care to take your order. I have kids, like many parents, I tend to ask questions when ordering food and here, I always get this feeling that the staff at the register is bothered by my questions. Still, the seafood is deliciously fresh, so we return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No Reservations - Thanks God!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

There are a lot of good things to say about Dockside, but the number one is also the least obvious: Thanks God they don't take reservations. If they did the atmosphere of this place would drastically change. It would become "a scene". Instead, Stacey has established the most egalitarian restaurant in the Hamptons: first come, first serve, regardless of the size of the party. Party of two gets the outdoors table for five even if there is a larger party waiting. I am very good friends with one of the hostesses. It doesn't do me any good. I have to wait like everybody else. No favoritisms here.

Now, how many people in the Hamptons put up with THAT? Keep the policy, keep the good food, keep the honest prices, keep the friendly staff and let the "reservations" crowd enjoy other restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viscontiNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Waitstaff Issues”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is close to my home and I love the menu but won't go again due to the waitstaff. Lesley is argumentative and needs to find another occupation. What a shame...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank klraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Slow down....”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The food has always been good. I look forward to visiting every summer when I am home visiting my family. I especially like the Sag Harbor clam chowder. I do have to say however the service was a little lacking this summer. On two different occasions the runner brought our food before the appetizers were finished. In fact our family had to move their salads to the side because the dinner came out. Not cool......

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BellaCuore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Bar & Grill also viewed

Sag Harbor, Hamptons
Sag Harbor, Hamptons
 
Sag Harbor, Hamptons
 
Sag Harbor, Hamptons
 

Been to Dockside Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing