We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a Trip, But...”
Review of The American Hotel

The American Hotel
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Sag Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bay Street
Southampton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth a Trip, But...”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you wanted a stylish dinner at a premier property in the Hamptons this is it; but, it's a bit over-rated and very pricey. Snobbish atmosphere and "attitude" on the part of the staff doesn't help...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    79
    29
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Costly but the best.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The staff is super and they were very accommodating ! We were late for breakfast and they served us anyways.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Horrible service!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am surprised at the awful service that we received. The waiter pushed us out Of the bar and told our party they need to watch for the waiters because they walk through the bar! The American hotel had no problem taking our $200 dollars for the wine though! What was really unacceptable is when we asked to see the manager and the one manager told our party that the other man was the manager..but when he didn't come to talk to us we approached him and he said the other guy was the manager! When we asked who was really the manager. They don't know what to say! This was one star service and the food was also overpriced and average tasting as well.

American hotel USED to be the place to go but the locals all told me that It is run terribly now and I would have to agree!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodandWineReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have been here twice, and both times left knowing I would return. The food is always excellent, a liitle pricey, but well worth it. The service is effecient. Went with friends and everyone had a different meal and we all left very pleased.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too old.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Food is always good, but both clientele and staff are too old. Sorry, guys! You feel young if you are under 60. And, service is slow- like old guys slow...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The American Hotel also viewed

Sag Harbor, Hamptons
Sag Harbor, Hamptons
 
 

Been to The American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing