We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Spot for a Relaxed Beach Getaway”
Review of Forever Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forever Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot for a Relaxed Beach Getaway”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We just spent a wonderful weekend at Forever Bungalows and will absolutely return.

Highlights:
- The room was very clean, with simple, modern furnishings inside and a small semi-private patio in back. We stayed in room 5 which is in the set of smaller, attached rooms and it was perfect for a couple.
- The owner Alistair, his wife and the whole staff are extremely helpful and accommodative. There are maybe 17 rooms total so there's a quasi b&b tone.
- Horseshoes, bocce ball and a fire pit out front were an unexpected fun addition. Additionally the bungalows are adjacent to the golf course which has a gorgeous (if very woodsy/ offroads) 4 mile loop you can run.

Considerations:
- As the bungalows are not in the heart of town, you do need a car to make the 10 minute drive into Sag Harbor.
-This is not a hotel, so if other amenities besides a clean simple room and friendly service are on your 'must haves' it may not be a fit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    16
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We found this place as a last minute reservation. We booked the two bedroom unit, #13. We were a family of four. From the outside the place looks like a typical old style motor lodge, but the units have been done up with modern, minimalist and chic furniture and bedding. Outside there is a fire pit surrounded by benches, a hammock and lots of open space. The hotel is off the road, but so are many million dollar estates. The Hotel sign is past the driveway, so be careful depending on which direction you are coming from, it is not easy to turn around if you pass it!

Our original unit (13) had two large bedrooms, a large bathroom with a tub, a large separate kitchen an eating area and a living room. It had a front and a back patio. It even had an outdoor shower! The big problem was that the whole unit smelled so moldy. It was obvious that the unit never gets sun and just has a permanent damp smell. We tried opening windows (those that had screens) but there was no airflow and I could not stay there.

Thankfully the wonderful woman at the desk (in the funky office /converted garage) moved us to the smaller, but sunny "penthouse"unit. This was a one bedroom with a leather futon in the living room and we brought in a cot. This unit was much nicer, and since we did not need a kitchen (it has a fridge/freezer) we were fine with less space. This unit had a great back deck that was super private, as well as the large front landing at the top of the stairs, both were covered with astro turf which helped keep the sand out of the room. There were magazines and nice toiletries in the room. Even the extra bedding they brought us for the cot and futon were nice! Our bed was a king and the mattress was amazing, I did not feel my husband move all night!

The office had snacks for sale, board games, books and magazines to borrow, and a ping pong table. There was a bonfire still burning in the firepit when we came home which was nice, but it was late and we had an early wake-up call. The location was great, we used the provided parking pass for Foster Memorial Beach, ( nice but pretty rocky) we could have gone to any of the other local beaches.

All in all, I would avoid unit 13 if you are sensitive to smells, but other than that I thought this was a very cool place, it reminded me of the converted motels in L.A and Palm Springs. The office staff were wonderful, very helpful for finding restaurants, directions, beaches etc. The price was not cheap but less than a regular room in other hotels and we had decks, a living room, an eating area with a fridge etc. So comparing apples to apples it is a good value!

Room Tip: If you can afford it and you are no more than 4 people splurge on the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exmontrealgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was the most amazing get away we could have asked for. The staff was very helpful and the accommodations were amazing! The bathroom was amazing! We will definitely be back and definitely recommend Forever Bungalows to anyone we know coming to the Hamptons. Thanks you for a great stay!

Room Tip: look up the penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just stayed at Forever Bungalows this past weekend via a Groupon deal. The hotel is just starting to open for the season so there was a lot of back and forth to confirm arrival time but Sarah who was the manager did an excellent job in getting back to us. The hotel is in a good location to get around Sag Harbor, but you definitely will need a car. Went to Dock Side Restaurant one night, nothing to rave about. Went to our usual restaurant establishments on Shelter Island the other night which was delicious as usual. Room was clean and quite spacious. Small patio out back with two chairs. Just a note for everyone: this is a low maintanence hotel. Please do not expect 5 star luxury but do expect friendly staff members, clean rooms. They are very eco friendly, so there is no housekeeping unless you request it.

Since we were the only guests there for the weekend, we asked for a late checkout and it was not a problem.

Would definitely return again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Great communication online too and so helpful with late check in. Room was very clean, would have loved tea making facilities in the room, but really a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCbaby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon and were checke in by Sarah. She was very welcoming and helped with information about the room and gave us her opinion about places in Sag Harbor for dining, etc...Our room was super clean, very nicely decorated with a seating area and a very comfortable bed. We both appreciated the fact that there were recycling bins in the rooms too! I thought the close proximity to the road would be bothersome, but I didn't hear a thing! A nice touch was coming back from dinner to a roaring bonfire! After check out Sarah was generous enough to let us explore the other types of rooms available. All were wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

First off, staff was wonderful ! The place was so clean. The linens were from West Elm ! Very tasteful. Coffee every morning in the "office" was available as was fresh fruit and other goodies,books and games. Bikes were available for a reasonable fee. The reason for very good not excellent was really the location of the bungalow being on a main road. Lots of very fast traffic. Also in our cottage a small couch would have been nice to sit and read instead of only a bed. However, that being said I would not hesitate to go back. For the next visit I will try to get a bungalow with a couch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doglvr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sag Harbor
1.9 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
7.5 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
4.1 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
14.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
10.1 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forever Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forever Bungalows

Property: Forever Bungalows
Address: 765 Rt 114, Sag Harbor, NY 11963
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Sag Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sag Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forever Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forever Bungalows is a simple environment that encourages a true escape. Our hotel rooms have a quiet boutique feel, while our detached 'bungalows' offer a more casual country vibe. All of the rooms have larger-than-mini fridges, and the bungalows have small kitchens for light cooking. We are a straight 1.5 miles from the very center of Sag Harbor Village (a picturesque former whaling village which has become the 'jewel' of the Hamptons) and a straight 5 miles in the opposite direction to East Hampton (the popular 'has it all' Hampton.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Forever Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing