We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bates Cottages meets grapes of wrath”
Review of Forever Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forever Bungalows
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bates Cottages meets grapes of wrath”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went and stayed for one night in cottage. Arrived late at night and left the next day. Creepy. Weeds in the front; weeds in the back. Dirty area rugs in bathroom and kitchen. Sink in kitchen had rust ring. The walls in bathroom were damaged; roku barely worked (in and out); could not get wifi. I slept in my clothes, it was so creepy. No closet. Linens looked old. Doors gave no sense of security.
Maid service unavailable.

I think these cottages were initially used for illegal immigrant workers to stay; with a small kitchen and, they were poorly refurbished when they created the hotel. I didn't stay in the motel rooms (just the cottage) so I can't speak to their condition.
The place is worth $100 a night in an emergency. They have a lot of nerve charging those prices. There is no pool; no maid service; I couldn't get wifi; the outside of the cottages were barely painted.

The staff was very nice about the reservation; other than that the place is a dump. They should not rent the cottages unless they are brought up to a minimum standard. Clean and paint, get rid of dirty rugs; plaster the bathroom walls, put in a closet, get rid of the weeds (how hard is it to have some mums?); get the wifi working, etc. etc. etc.

Room Tip: maybe the motel rooms; don't get the cottages unless you are a migrant worker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Checkallthereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForeverBungalows, Owner at Forever Bungalows, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I will attempt to respond to this very mean-spirited review in order of its "criticisms". We are an eco-based hotel dedicated to organic products and organic gardening -- we do have some weeds -- we work on it, but not with chemicals. All of our rooms are checked by management and our regular, excellent, staff prior to all check-ins -- if anything is dirty it is removed, or cleaned, or replaced. We use a daily in-house cleaning team we have known for over 15 years (rather than an outside service) -- they notify us of any things, such as rust, which they cannot rectify with usual means, and we address it. We currently don't have any 'damaged walls' in any of our rooms. The wifi is free and as good as Cablevision (the only service offered on Long Island) is able to get it -- thousands of our neighbors experience delays during peak times, we hate when it happens but have little control over it. Our Roku is a fun service our guests usually have very favorable comments about. Our linens are purchased and re-purchased as soon as needed from upscale retail distributors like West Elm and Crate and Barrel (vs standard hotel linen) Our security via doors and or locks has never been a problem -- not sure why someone didn't feel 'secure'. Again, we are eco -- we ask that guests who desire daily maid service request it -- that's all it takes. I don't understand the 'illegal immigrant worker' comment -- it seems, at best, insensitive to immigrants -- and i can't be sure how someone's conjecture about what our property was possibly used for before it was our property is relevant. Our 'small kitchens' are simply meant as a convenience for those staying who desire to eat in, rather than use the many area restaurants. The kitchens have everything needed to cook and eat, but we never market them as more than what they are -- small kitchens. When we created the hotel our designers concepted, and we then bought completely new furniture for every room. We have never even hinted at having a pool -- instead we offer free ocean and bay beach passes. The outside of our cottages were re-painted last Spring. Yes, our staff is LOVELY -- it's great that the reviewer was able to enjoy them. Some of our bungalows have full closets, some have modern metro rack systems -- every cottage is different. We are please to incorporate some of our guests ideas and suggestions -- mums might be a great idea -- thank you. Again, I don't entirely understand the 'migrant worker' comment -- if the idea being presented is that somehow people who labor hard in fields are a lesser people, we find that an EXTREMELY offensive comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    16
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
44
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My fiance and I came here because we found it in groupon. I am so happy we found this place. It's perfect for a romantic get away, family get away or a get away for a group of friends that will enjoy their fire pit they have in there facility (I am from the city so yes I was so impressed with the fire pit...lol)The staff Beth and sarah are awesome sweet girls. They definitely try every way to help you out and alistar one of the owners he is a very nice man with a cool british accent :-) who as well is very knowledgeable about the location and will answer and help you as much as he can. I cannot express how much I love this place and the staff. Saying I will go back should say it all.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We needed a place to stay that was reasonably priced during a reunion trip to the Hamptons. Forever Bungalows was recommended to us by a local friend and we are very grateful for the suggestion. It is a delightful little motel with an amazingly friendly staff. The room was beautifully updated and very "green". The little patio out back was delightful as well. Overall, a terrific place to stay and quite reasonably priced for the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkap52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went on a Groupon deal at the end of September....Great long weekend! Not many rooms to the place so definitely call to schedule. Super friendly staff that are locals so can give you the inside scoop. Board games, books, outdoor seating areas and fire pit are available, plus the best hammock you'll ever lay in! Rooms are to die for (super contemporary, clean and new). Microwave, hot water pot, coffee and fresh fruit always available. They even have little battery operated lanterns to borrow. Bikes for rent but are the folding kind - so bring your own if you're a biking enthusiast. Bring some marshmallows for smores in the fire pit. Hamptons wasn't my favorite place in the world, but Forever Bungalows was enjoyable.

Room Tip: only one Penthouse, all others on ground floor, a few cabins available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here, and every thing was great. Clean room, comfy bed, and kitchy modern design. We stayed in the queen room on the first floor. The highway was little noisy, but definitely was convenient to be right by for driving around the area. Staff was also friendly and attentive. All in all, a great place for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleisaGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I took advantage of the last few beautiful beach days left! Wow there is something to be said about having the beach to yourself! About a 10 min drive from the bungalow!
STAFF AWESOME!
If you choose to stay a few suggestions... Bring a small grill, some candles and create an experience!
Will definatly be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Forever Bungalows for one night for a reunion with friends we met on a previous vacation. We had a very enjoyable mini vacation. Once we settled in, we found that we loved the location. Everything is very close if you have a car. Each town is a few minutes apart. We spent time in East Hampton and Montauk and then had dinner in Sag Harbor with friends. We received an internet discount special on the room and were very happy with the price. The room was super clean. We loved having the patio behind our room for relaxing in the evning. Everything in the room looked brand new. Our bed was very comfortable. Having a couch in the room was convenient when we had friends who had the room next to us over to hang out. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You cannot go wrong with a room here. We didn't use the beach pass since we felt it wasn't warm enough for swimming. However, we feel this is a great perk for summer guests. We will definitely be back. We enjoyed the ping pong table. We didn't fully utilize everything Forever Bungalows offers because we were too busy exploring the Hampton area. Forever Bungalows offers free coffee and fresh fruit which we didn't have time to sample. We were in such a rush to explore the area. I noticed they also sell snacks and marshmellow kits.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reunion20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sag Harbor
4.1 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
112 reviews
17.8 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
521 reviews
10.1 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#19 of 39 in Montauk
134 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
3.2 mi away
380 Inn
380 Inn
#1 of 2 in Wainscott
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forever Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forever Bungalows

Property: Forever Bungalows
Address: 765 Rt. 114, Sag Harbor, NY 11963
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Sag Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sag Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forever Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forever Bungalows is a simple environment that encourages a true escape. Our hotel rooms have a quiet boutique feel, while our detached 'bungalows' offer a more casual country vibe. All of the rooms have larger-than-mini fridges, and the bungalows have small kitchens for light cooking. We are a straight 1.5 miles from the very center of Sag Harbor Village (a picturesque former whaling village which has become the 'jewel' of the Hamptons) and a straight 5 miles in the opposite direction to East Hampton (the popular 'has it all' Hampton.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Forever Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing