We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Landmark amongst Landmarks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Street Theatre

Bay Street Theatre
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Sag Harbor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Landmark amongst Landmarks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

As a year round resident I could not think of Sag Harbor without the Bay Street Theater the theater sits a top the very Wharf where people launched on ships to Connecticut to attend the Constitutional Convention. It's a community theater that is vital to Sag Harbor.
I have seen everything from classic films to Jazz to the presidential inauguration there..
It's a great place, in a beautiful village.

Helpful?
Thank YoYoBumchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    15
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Slipping into obscurity...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Used to be a very promising prospect but mismanagement and quirky selection of shows and programs now make it an also-ran heading to obscurity.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

plays, musicals, comedy and even movies. great theatre, We love comedy and they have a great variety of comics here to satisfy every laugh requirement. yes it is a requirement to laugh, regularly!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnieT652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“close call”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were in town for the Film Festival and had tickets for an event. We were told that the event was over sold by someone who works there and we may not all get in. We drove a long way to be there and no where in the ticketing process did it say that we may be bumped if people who bought weekend passes could bump to the front of the line and therefore not allowing access to other ticket holders. Will never buy tickets for this place again. We did get in since not many weekend pass holders were there. Management really needs an overhall.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dan46826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High level programming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wish I could attend more often -- the productions are fantastic, the theatre is charming, Sag Harbor abounds with good restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank drbobstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Street Theatre also viewed

 
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Bay Street Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing