We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch”
Review of The American Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sag Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The American Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sag Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Took a group from Australia for lunch At The American on 23 October 2012 and it was wonderful.
Loved the hotel. Staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. Loved the ambience and everything about the hotel and its superb Main Street location in this gem if a town. Put it on your list.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank ANNE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 111 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Feels like a guest mansion, with luxurious, spacious, high-ceiling rooms and plush comforters. One of the most comfortable beds ever. Still has manual keys, but personalized service and old-fashioned details make it feel more like a special get-away and add to the warmth of the place.

Room Tip: Only saw 12 and 15 but they were both gorgeous and huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MKC246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Interesting inn, I would say more than a hotel. This is a restaurant with rooms. If dining book a table outside which is more or less on the street but good for people watching. Good central location - easy walk to harbor.
Rooms are spacious - old fashioned, a bit like a guest house in the UK. Very efficient but noisy air conditioning.
Great pictures and stuff on the walls. Huge wine list but first bottle went back as not good - indifference from the waiter but we have had a lot worse service.
Rooms were clean, beds comfortable.
We arrived very late and bar was crowded but were met with a smile and someone dragged our heavy bags up the stairs. one flight but steep.
We left early and dragged our own bags out!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Namshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We are a family of 3 who recently stayed there for 3 nights. We LOVED it! The EXCEPTIONAL staff is only too happy to help. The room was charming, comfortable, well attended to and beautifully maintained. The location is wonderful. It's right on Main Street in lovely, charming (low-key) Sag Harbor. Unfortunately, we didn't get the opportunity to stay for dinner, but it looked lovely and the bar is lively and welcoming. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning in a choice of settings.... outside, indoors or in the sitting room where we enjoyed a few games of backgammon. Can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: If stairs aren't "your thing" request to be on the 2nd floor.....the building is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aknj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stay at the American Hotel once each year and it is always great. Be sure to make a reservation for dinner as it is alway crowded as is the bar. Try to get seated outside on the porch for great people watching with an occassional celebrity. Food is excellent and right in the center of town. Take a walk after dinner or have a drink at the bar

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THECURCIOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

On a Downhill run! I spent years running resorts in the US... I would never have hired most of this staff! Be REAL is my advice to management!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank willtravel05605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We sat outside and people watched ... Loved the food and the service is excellent

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nobby991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sag Harbor
0.3 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
254 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
4.4 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
73 reviews
7.0 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
109 reviews
7.8 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Hotel

Address: 49 Main St, Sag Harbor, NY 11963-3012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Sag Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sag Harbor
Price Range: $169 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
American Hotel Sag Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing